Press enter after choosing selection

Committee To Aid Allies Names Its Executive Board

Committee To Aid Allies Names Its Executive Board image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Committee To Aid Allies Names Its Executive Board

A permanent executive committee, replacing a temporary committee, was elected by the newly organized Ann Arbor chapter of William Allen White’s Committee for the Defense of America by Aiding the Allies, at a meeting at the Michigan Union last night.

The executive committee members, who will meet Friday night to elect officers, are Mrs. Albert Reeves, Mrs. D. M. Cowie, Mrs. W. B. Pillsbury, Prof. Bradley M. Davis, Prof. William H. Hobbs, Dr. Louis. H. Newburgh, Bert Watkins, Robert A. Duval and Eugene Power.

One hundred nine persons attended the meeting last night, 93 signing up as members.

Prof. Hobbs informed the group that American defense plans are "shaping up rapidly" and that there is no longer any need for using "stove-pipe" cannon in our war game.

Regarding the proposed transfer to England of the American army's famed flying fortresses, Prof. Hobbs said that the planes would do the United States much more good in British hands in helping to keep war remote from this country.

This nation can well spare the bombers he said, because American assembly lines are beginning to produce newer and improved models.