Press enter after choosing selection

Greek Relief Group Formed: Reichert To Be Chairman of Local Organization

Greek Relief Group Formed: Reichert To Be Chairman of Local Organization image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Greek Relief Group Formed

Reichert To Be Chairman Of Local Organization

Formation of an Ann Arbor chapter of the Greek War Relief Association, Inc., headed by George Burke as honorary chairman and Rudolph Reichert as chairman, was announced today.

Mr. Reichert said the organization would conduct a campaign here March 24-30 to raise funds for military and civilian aid for embattled Greece. Every cent raised will be sent to Greece, he said, since local Greek-Americans will pay all campaign expenses.

The chapter's membership is composed of Greek-Americans and other American citizens.

Besides Mr. Burke and Mr. Reichert, the executive committee is composed of Dr. Harley Haynes, vice-chairman; Charles Preketes, president; Theodore Dames, vice-president; Paul Koken, and Reardon Peirsol, co-secretaries; Mrs. Earl Cress and Mrs. Suzanne Bezirium, co-assistant secretaries; Leonard Tappe, treasurer; and Angelous Poulos, assistant treasurer.

The advisory council is composed of Ira Smith, Shirley Smith, Dr. Frederick Coller, Cone Lighthall, Earl Cress, William Brown, George Langford, John Panarites, Judge George W. Sample, Frank Preketes, Nima Perros, Peter Raft, Clyde Fleming, Rev. M. Kontoleon, Frank DeVine and Herman Gross.

The women’s committee is composed of Mrs. R. Bishop Canfield, chairman; Mrs. H. Marvin Pollard, vice-chairman; Mrs. Earl Cress, secretary-treasurer; and Mrs. Paul Preketes and Mrs. Paul Koken.