Press enter after choosing selection

Jean Winkelhaus Wins City Flag Design Contest

Jean Winkelhaus Wins City Flag Design Contest image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

FLAG CONTEST WINNERS: Jean Winkelhaus, first place winner in the city flag design contest for school students, dis- cusses her winning entry with Terry Johnson, one of two honorable mention award winners. Both are 17-year-old Arbor High School seniors. The winning entry (below) is white background with a black vertical stripe and three hori- zontal gold stripes. Those are the city's official colors. Jean Winkelhaus Wins City Flag Design Contest Jean Winkelhaus, 17-6ear-old Ann Arbor High School senior, is the first-place winner of the city flag design contest. Honorable mention award winners are Terry Johnson, 17, an Ann Arbor High senior, and Kirsten Nielsen, 17, and Ann Arbor High junior. Judging of the final total of 39 entries was done yes- terday after- noon by a six- member panel of judges. The contest was conducted for school students in grades 7 through 12. Awards of a $20 first prize and a pair of $5 honorable mention prizes will be made at the City Council meeting Monday night. The money is being contributed by the Ann Arbor Chamber of Commerce. Miss Winkelhaus is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Winkelhaus of 905 Sybil St. Terry Johnson is the son of| Mr. and Mrs. George C. John- son of 705 Madison Pl. Miss Nielsen is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bent F. Nielsen of 1404 Linwood Ave. Bent Niel- sen is a City Council member. The judges included William A. Lewis, University assistant professor of art; Thomas J. Larkin, U-M assistant profes- sor of art and education; Mrs. Richard Wilt, teacher of chil- dren's creative art classes in the public recreation program. | Others were Ann Arbor School Supt. Jack Elzay; Mis Alicia Dwyer, former City Council member who origi- nated the idea the city should have a flag; Franklin C. For- sythe, attorney, member of the Chamber board of directores, and chairman of the Chamb- er's community publicity com- mittee.