Press enter after choosing selection

Rowry Re-Elected To Model Cities Board

Rowry Re-Elected To Model Cities Board image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Rowry Re-Elected To Model Cities Board

By Jim Kane
(News Staff Reporter)

Ezra L. Rowry, chairman of the Model Cities Policy Board, was re-elected to a three-year at-large seat to the board in an election held Friday and Saturday.

With 154 votes, he led a field of six candidates, according to unofficial returns.

Hank C. Bryant Jr., one of the leaders of the Black Economic Development League (BEDL), received 119 votes in a losing bid for one of the three three-year at-large seats.

Paul Spann, 152 votes, and Theodore Beals, 151 votes, won the other two posts. Other candidates were Maybelle Waterman, 120 votes and Antoinette Quicksey, 108 votes.

Also re-elected was Thomas Mitchell with 84 votes, who defeated Anna Lois Wilson, 23, votes, for the one three-year term in District A.

Another incumbent winning was Theodore Palo, 156 votes who won one of the two at-large one-year unexpired seats. Mary Brent, 180 votes, won the other seat. William D. Ratcliff received 131 votes.

In District B for the youth representive three-year term, Bobbie Jean McFarland was unopposed for the one vacancy. She got 43 votes.

Clinton Brantley Jr. was also unopposed for the one three-year term in Dis-strict C. He received 25 votes.

In District C, for the two-year term, there was no one certified for the ballot for the one seat. Mamie Dunagan received eight write-in votes. Other write-in candidates were Lois Wilson, three votes and Richard Dennard, two votes.

Dennard won the three-year post with 45 votes in District D. Bruce McCreary had 22 votes.

James M. Lee with 41 votes was unopposed for the two-year youth representative seat in District D.