Press enter after choosing selection

Women's Panel Head Appointed

Women's Panel Head Appointed image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Women’s Panel Head Appointed

SUNDAY JUN 30 1974

Eunice L. Burns has been named chairwoman of the University Commission for Women, succeeding Virginia Davis Nordin, effective July 1.

Active in University and community affairs, Mrs. Burns has been assistant to the dean for administration at the U-M School of Education since 1970.

She holds a bachelor of science degree from Wisconsin State University and a master of public administration degree from U-M. From 1967 to 1970 she participated in a U-M study which resulted in the report, “Urban Water Policies and Decision Making in the Detroit Metropolitan Region.”

As a member of the Ann Arbor City Council from 1962 to 1968, she was involved in several aspects of planning and human relations. She was a leader in promoting the fair housing ordinance; establishing the Historical Commission; building bicycle and pedestrian pathways along new roads; organizing the Northeast Area Planning Review Committee; and setting up a teenagers’ program at Jones School.

Her major city council committees included the Recreation Board, Human Relations Commission, City-Township Relations, Central Business District High-Rise and Parking, Blue Ribbon Finance, Charter Amendment and Environmental Interpretive Center.

She has been a member of the Ann Arbor Planning Acommission since 1968, and was its chairwoman in 1970-71. She has been the city’s representative to the Huron River Watershed Council since 1968 and a board member of Arbor A, a corporation engaged in redeveloping part of downtown Ann Arbor, since 1969.

She is also a member of the Ann Arbor Board of Education Committee on Curriculum, Buildings and Sites, and chairwoman of its sites subcommittee.

Since joining the University, she has chaired the Committee to Study Intercollegiate Athletics for Woman, the Subcommittee on Incentives of the Energy Task Force and the School of Education Commission for Woman. She is a member of the Task Force on Decision Making of the University’s Long Range Planning Committee.

Mrs. Burns’ honors include membership in Phi Kappa Phi and Delta Psi Kappa honorary societies and an award from Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson as one of the three Democratic women in the United States for her work in beautifying the community.