Press enter after choosing selection

Summer Fest board named

Summer Fest board named image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Summer Fest board named

Alan M. Mandel will succeed Eugene B. Power as chairman of the Ann Arbor Summer Festival board of trustees. Vice President and regional manager for Jacobson Stores, Mandel previously served as vice-chairman, president and president of the festival.

George D. Goodman was also elected president at the annual meeting on Nov. 16. Goodman is director of the Michigan Municipal League.

Power, who had been chairman of the festival since was organized in 1978, was appointed chairman emeritus and will remain an active trustee.

"He's still very involved in things,  but he no longer wants the mantle of chairman," says Summer Festival staff member Susan Pollay.

Other officer appointments were: Margaret Massialas, vice president; Mark C. Ouimet, treasurer; Ruth Whitaker, secretary; Phyllis Wright, assistant secretary.

The festival board is divided equally between appointees from city council and the University of Michigan regents. William Krumm, U-M director of the business operations and Mayor Jerry Jernigan were newly elected to three-year terms. Re-elected to three-year terms were: Paul Boylan; J.P. Weidenbach; Kenneth Fischer; Burnette Staebler; Jerry Weisbach; and Timothy White, publisher of the Ann Arbor News.