Press enter after choosing selection

Annie Awards salute VIPs of county arts scene Sunday

Annie Awards salute VIPs of county arts scene Sunday image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Annie Awards salute VIPs of county arts scene Sunday



The Washtenaw County fine arts community’s annual rite of spring returns Sunday with ceremonies for the 1997 Annie Awards, which recognize outstanding artists and supporters of the arts.

Ceremonies will take place starting at 7 p.m. at The Marriott, 1275 S. Huron St., in Ypsilanti, and will feature performances by the.Ypsilanti High School Chamber Singers, Young Actors Guild, jazz pianist Rick Roe,and dancers under the direction of University of Michigan dance professor Gay DeLanghe.

The comedy quartet Stunt Johnson Theatre will emcee the event, which presents awards from a list of individuals, organizations and businesses nominated by the general public and narrowed down by the arts council’s nomination committee. Light refreshments and a cash bar are available

Tickets are $15 and proceeds support the Washtenaw Council for the Arts; phone 484-4882 to reserve tickets.

This year’s nominees include:

Visual arts: Angie Nagel Miller, Beverly Walker (two-dimensional); Ann Savageau, Jane Bunge-Notke (three-dimensional.

Performing arts, individual: Dancers Camilla and John Chaipuris; Brent Wagner, director, University of Michigan School of Music music theater program.

Performing arts, group: P.T.D. Productions, U-M Gilbert and Sullivan Society (theater); Saline Fiddler’s Philharmonic, University Musical Society Choral Union (music); Creating Space: “An Evening of Music, Dance and Storytelling” and Ann Arbor Morris and Sword Dancers (dance).

Emerging Artist or Organization: Chamber Music Ann Arbor, The Choral Connection.

Youth Artist: Dancer Hillary D. Haugen.

Youth Organization: Young People’s Theater Troubadours; The Ann Arbor Young Actors Guild; Ypsilanti High School drama department.

Volunteer Service to the Arts: U-M Museum of Art docent program, Deanna Domer.

Service to the Arts: University of Michigan Museum of Art, and Ann Arbor Film Festival, Vicki Honeyman director.

Business Support of the Arts: Edward Surovell Co., Realtors, Don and Gerri Lewis, Action Rental.

Lifetime Achievement: Mary Bachman, David Siglin.

Annie Awards ceremonies are sponsored by General Motors, the Japanese Business Society and The Marriott.