Press enter after choosing selection

Ann Arbor Police Chiefs and Marshals

Marshal H. K. Stanley 1847-1848
Marshal Samuel Sutherland 1848-1850
Marshal Nelson B. Nye 1850-1851
Marshal Joseph Godfrey 1851-1852
Marshal Roger Natthews 1853-1858
Marshal Oliver M. Martin 1858-1859
Marshal Stephen Webster 1859-1860
Marshal Jerome Ganson 1860-1861
Marshal Oliver M. Martin 1861-1864
Marshal Richard Dillon 1864-1865
Marshal Oliver M. Martin 1865-1866
Marshal D. J. Loomis 1866-1867
Marshal Nathan Pierce 1867-1868
Marshal George W. Efner 1868-1869
Marshal Nathan Pierce 1869-1870
Marshal Ambrose Robinson 1870-1871
Marshal I. H. Peebels 1871-1872

The city council enacted an ordinance establishing the police department in 1871. Prior to the establishment of the police department the marshal was elected as the city's chief law enforcement officer.

Marshal Peebels was the first marshal to serve under the newly established Ann Arbor Police Department, making him the city's first police chief, although the position was still referred to as marshal.

Marshal Erastus LeSuer 1872-1873
Marshal James J. Parshall 1873-1874
Marshal John Loveland 1874-1875
Marshal E. Stiling 1875-1875 Marshal Stiling died while in office.
Marshal A. H. Heron 1875-1876
Marshal George Cook 1876-1877
Marshal John Johnson 1877-1881
Marshal Thomas Clarken 1881-1882
Marshal John Nowland 1882-1884
Marshal Chas L. Fall 1884-1886
Marshal Fred Sipley 1886-1889
Marshal William Walsh 1889-1890
Marshal James Murray 1890-1893
Marshal Charles Wheeler 1893-1894
Marshal Parris Banfield 1894-1895
Marshal Melvin Peterson 1895-1897
Marshal Zenas Sweet 1897-1899
Marshal William Gerstner 1899-1901
Marshal Frank Warren 1901-1902
Marshal Orton Kelsey 1902-1905
Marshal Charles Masten 1905-1907

During his tenure, Marshall Masten was shot in the stomach while attempting to make an arrest on the city's northside. While he was recovering from his wounds, William Eldert was appointed acting marshal.

Marshal Theodore Apfel 1907-1913
Marshal John Keeny 1913-1915
Marshal Frank Pardon 1915-1916
Marshal Pardon died while in office.

[G2:4019 frame=shadow class=right]

Chief Thomas O'Brien 1916-1933

Looking through this list one might wonder why there were so many marshals in the beginning of the department's history. The reason for this was the marshals were appointed by the mayor, who ran for office every two years. New mayors tended to bring in new marshals. When the police commission was established in 1923, this three member board made all the personnel decisions and hiring the chief was one of their duties. Chief O'Brien was first chief hired by the commission. Chief O'Brien's 17 years as chief of police make him the longest serving chief in the department's history.

[G2:4022 frame=shadow]

Chief Lewis Fohey 1933-1939

During his tenure, Chief Fohey was granted a leave of absence from the department due to a serious illness. He was hired by the department in 1919, promoted to sergeant in 1924 and to chief in 1933. Chief Fohey died in office, the third chief in a row to do so.

[G2:4025 frame=shadow class=right]

Chief Norman Cook 1939-1941

Chief Cook served as a beat and motorcycle officer before being promoted to sergeant in 1926, a position he would hold until 1939, when he was appointed chief. Chief Cook suffered a heart attack and died on July 2, 1941.

Chief Sherman Mortenson 1941-1946

Chief Mortenson was hired by the department in 1923, promoted to sergeant in 1927 and to chief in 1941. Chief Mortenson resigned from the police department in 1946, due to a grand jury probe of the police department. While he was eventually cleared of any wrongdoing, Lt. Eugene Gehringer was fired from the department due to alleged ties to gamblers.

[G2:4028 frame=shadow]

Chief Casper Enkemann 1946-1960

Casper Enkemann was hired by the department in 1930 and served as a beat, traffic and motorcycle officer before being promoted to sergeant in 1939. He was promoted to lieutenant in 1944, captain in 1946 and then to chief upon the resignation of Chief Mortenson.

[G2:4031 frame=shadow class=right]

Chief Rolland “Barney” Gainsley 1960-1966

Barney Gainsley was hired by the department in 1935, promoted to sergeant in 1941, lieutenant in 1944 and captain in 1946. In May of 1953 he was placed in charge of all the departmental divisions and was second in command. On July 1, 1959, a new position of deputy chief was created specifically for Captain Gainsley. He was promoted to chief in 1960.

[G2:4037 frame=shadow]

Chief Walter Krasny 1966-1980

Chief Krasny joined the department in 1939, promoted to detective in 1946, sergeant in 1948, lieutenant in 1951, captain in 1960 and deputy chief in 1962. Chief Krasny served as chief during what was arguably the most combative period in the department's history.

[G2:4040 frame=shadow class=right]

Chief William Corbett 1980-1990

Chief Corbett was first chief to be hired from outside the ranks of the department. Chief Corbett served for more than 20 years with the Detroit Police Department.

[G2:4043 frame=shadow]

Chief Douglas Smith 1991-1994

Chief Smith came to the department from the Minneapolis, Minnesota Police Department, where he served as a deputy chief. Chief Smith's tenure was very short, as he left the department to become the chief of police in Tucson, Arizona. Deputy Chief Walter Lunsford served as interim chief, after Chief Smith resigned.

[G2:4046 frame=shadow class=right]

Chief Carl Ent 1995-2000

Chief Ent came to Ann Arbor from the Muncie, Indiana Police Department, where he served as chief for five years. Chief Ent resigned from the police department in January of 2000, due to three internal lawsuits filed by departmental employees. Deputy Chief Walter Lunsford again served as the interim chief until a replacement was found.

[G2:4049 frame=shadow]

Chief Daniel Oates 2001(-2005)

Chief Oates came to Ann Arbor from the New York City Police Department. Chief Oates retired as the Executive Officer and second-in-command of the Patrol Borough Brooklyn South, where he supervised 3,000 patrol officers and was responsible for all patrol services for 1.4 million residents in New York City's largest borough. Between 1997 and 2001, Chief Oates served as the Commanding Officer of the NYPD's Intelligence Division.

[G2:4052 frame=shadow class=right]

Chief Barnett Jones 2006- (joined force after the publication of this book)