Press enter after choosing selection

When Breath Becomes Air

Kalanithi, Paul. Book - 2016 921 Kalanithi, Paul, Adult Book / Nonfiction / Biography / General / Kalanithi, Paul 3 On Shelf 17 requests on 35 copies

Cover image for

Sign in to request

Locations
Call Number: 921 Kalanithi, Paul, Adult Book / Nonfiction / Biography / General / Kalanithi, Paul
On Shelf At: Malletts Creek Branch, Traverwood Branch

Location Call Number Branch Item Status
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library On holds shelf
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library On holds shelf
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library On holds shelf
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library On holds shelf
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library Due 02-11-2018
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library In transit
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library Due 02-06-2018
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library Due 01-12-2018
Downtown 2nd Floor 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library Due 02-11-2018
Malletts Adult Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch On Shelf
Malletts Adult Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch Due 01-16-2018
Malletts Adult Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch Missing
Pittsfield Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Pittsfield Branch On holds shelf
Pittsfield Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Pittsfield Branch On holds shelf
Pittsfield Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Pittsfield Branch Due 01-10-2018
Pittsfield Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Pittsfield Branch Lost and Paid
Traverwood Adult Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Traverwood Branch On Shelf
Traverwood Adult Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Traverwood Branch Due 02-01-2018
Traverwood Adult Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Traverwood Branch Due 01-30-2018
Traverwood Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Traverwood Branch On Shelf
Traverwood Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Traverwood Branch Due 02-18-2018
Traverwood Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Traverwood Branch Due 02-16-2018
Traverwood Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Traverwood Branch Due 01-15-2018
Downtown 1st Floor Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library Due 01-29-2018
Downtown 1st Floor Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Downtown Library Due 01-30-2018
Malletts Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch In transit
Malletts Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch Due 01-11-2018
Malletts Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch In transit
Malletts Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch Due 02-01-2018
Malletts Adult 921 Kalanithi, Paul Malletts Creek Branch Due 01-18-2018
Pittsfield Adult Express Shelf 921 Kalanithi, Paul Pittsfield Branch Due 01-24-2018
Westgate Adult Books Adult Book / Nonfiction / Biography / General / Kalanithi, Paul Westgate Branch Due 02-12-2018
Westgate Adult Books Adult Book / Nonfiction / Biography / General / Kalanithi, Paul Westgate Branch In transit
Westgate Adult Books Express Shelf Adult Book / Nonfiction / Biography / General / Kalanithi, Paul Westgate Branch Due 02-01-2018
Westgate Adult Books Express Shelf Adult Book / Nonfiction / Biography / General / Kalanithi, Paul Westgate Branch Due 01-25-2018

"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"-- Provided by publisher.

REVIEWS & SUMMARIES

Library Journal Review Booklist Review Publishers Weekly Review Summary / Annotation Table of Contents Fiction Profile Author Notes
Cover image for

PUBLISHED
New York : Random House, 2016.
Year Published: 2016
Description: 228 pages ; 19 cm.
Language: English
Format: Book

ISBN/STANDARD NUMBER
9780812988406
081298840X

SUBJECTS
Kalanithi, Paul -- Health.
Lungs -- Patients -- Biography.
Neurosurgeons -- Biography.
Husband and wife.