Press enter after choosing selection

Pachinko

Lee, Min Jin. Book - 2017 Fiction / Lee, Min, Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin, Fiction / Lee, Min None on shelf 7 requests on 19 copies Community Rating: 4.4 out of 5

Cover image for Pachinko

Sign in to request

Location Call Number Branch Item Status
Downtown 2nd Floor Fiction / Lee, Min Downtown Library On Hold Shelf
Downtown 2nd Floor Fiction / Lee, Min Downtown Library Due 05-05-2021
Downtown 2nd Floor Fiction / Lee, Min Downtown Library Due 04-20-2021
Malletts Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Malletts Creek Branch On Hold Shelf
Malletts Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Malletts Creek Branch On Hold Shelf
Malletts Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Malletts Creek Branch Due 04-29-2021
Traverwood Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Traverwood Branch On Hold Shelf
Traverwood Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Traverwood Branch Due 03-23-2021
Traverwood Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Traverwood Branch Due 04-10-2021
Downtown 2nd Floor Fiction / Lee, Min Downtown Library Due 05-01-2021
Downtown 2nd Floor Fiction / Lee, Min Downtown Library Due 04-18-2021
Pittsfield Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Pittsfield Branch Due 05-03-2021
Pittsfield Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Pittsfield Branch Due 05-03-2021
Pittsfield Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Pittsfield Branch Due 05-06-2021
Pittsfield Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Pittsfield Branch Due 04-03-2021
Westgate Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Westgate Branch Due 04-17-2021
Westgate Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Westgate Branch Due 04-23-2021
Westgate Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Westgate Branch Due 03-26-2021
Westgate Adult Books Adult Book / Fiction / General / Lee, Min Jin Westgate Branch Due 04-23-2021

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"-- Provided by publisher.

REVIEWS & SUMMARIES

Library Journal Review
Booklist Review
Publishers Weekly Review
Summary / Annotation
Fiction Profile
Author Notes

COMMUNITY REVIEWS

Refined yet Readable submitted by sburch46 on March 31, 2017, 9:07am Long story short, this book will break your heart, although the writing is so eloquent and beautiful you can forgive the author for doing so. The author introduces you to multiple characters in this multi-generational story. And the tale she weaves transports you to Korea and then Japan in the 20th century, when even 2nd or 3rd generation Koreans were not considered to be Japanese. You read firsthand about their whole existence being that of a 2nd class citizen. You live alongside this family through hardships and their triumphs. A brutally honest tale of the consequences and joy that occurs when you follow your heart.

I’m so glad I picked it up again submitted by christinacz on July 21, 2018, 9:40pm I haven’t finished but I can’t seem to stop reading! The characters are compelling and multigenerational story is quiet and emotionally precise. The family’s hardships will remind you of the grapes of wrath or the jungle and the cultural landscapes are beautiful in their detail.

Quiet and emotional tale submitted by rebecca.perreault on August 8, 2018, 4:51pm This was a beautiful multigenerational story of love, success, and endurance with good character development. I'm not of Asian descent, so there were cultural elements of the story that I felt were descriptive, but that I could not relate to. One criticism is that I dislike when books, such as this, force in eroticism when it does very little to drive the plot. Regardless, a very good read that requires patience and an open-mind

Amazing book submitted by majean on August 9, 2018, 6:34pm I didn't know anything about the Koreans living in Japan during and after WWII, and that's with a degree in Asian Studies specializing in East Asia. Phenomenal book.

2/3 wonderful, 1/3 shtick submitted by sbaccouc on November 6, 2018, 9:50pm The last 1/3 of the book did not need a lot of the extreme details - I felt the author went away from the family idea ... I was so wanting to love this book based on what people were saying, but the first 2/3 I did love it. Last 1/3, not so much...

Masterful submitted by Jinxyluis on June 18, 2019, 12:29pm Min Jin Lee is a masterful writer, and the years she spent researching and conceptualizing this saga are evident alongside her beautiful prose. I sort of disliked the frequency of the skips forward in time, but each section marvelously fills in details in such a way that I never felt a sense of incompleteness from the missing time, so it's hard to say really what my qualm can be with the skips.⁣

Maybe the Best Novel I Read this Year submitted by legalmama on June 27, 2019, 10:02am Gripping, interesting story that follows multiple generations of a family. Truly fantastic writing.

Loved this book, wonderful family history saga! submitted by jgetty on June 15, 2020, 9:05am I found this book from a good reads list. I was intimated by the big size, small letters, but excited to take on the challenge, and it was a fantastic story! A powerful family saga, full of struggles, strong personalities, love, intrigue, history, family, loyalty, pride, ......so many topics. I loved it, and recommend it as a really great read. Kept me busy reading for many days, and I was sad when I finished this great story.

Gorgeous submitted by jaromatorio on July 24, 2020, 11:16am Pachinko' tells the gorgeous and sometimes heartbreaking tale of one Korean family through the generations, beginning in the early 1900s with the story of Sunja, who finds herself young, pregnant, and alone in the world after her wealthy lover abandons her. When Sunja is presented with the chance to move to Japan and start her life anew, she seizes the opportunity-thus beginning the saga of a family "in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history."⠀

This story is sweeping--covering a span of almost 100 years--but feels incredibly intimate nonetheless. By the end of the book I felt that I knew each and every character, and though I sensed a personal affinity with some more than others, I thought the author did a remarkable job of giving even the most unpleasant characters some redeeming qualities--making them seem truly human, vulnerable, and REAL.⠀

And while story itself is beautiful, Min Jin Lee's elegant, almost sensual writing is what really makes this novel. Once I started reading I was completely enthralled.⠀

If you want to read a truly beautiful novel, if you enjoy rich family sagas, or if you're interested in learning about a slice of culture and history often ignored by the western world (or at least the American education I got!), I would 10,000/10 recommend 'Pachinko'!⠀

Fantastic Characterization and None of the Sensationalization submitted by sVfGI7Glt2pz7GZgVB90 on August 15, 2020, 10:54pm Pachinko is incredible in scope. It builds a portrait of an early-20th-century Korean family who eventually migrates to Japan to launch a new life for themselves. Lee paints an amazingly complex intergenerational portrait of immigration, filial ties, and family secrets. National Book Award Finalist.

Cover image for Pachinko

PUBLISHED
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Year Published: 2017
Description: 490 p.
Language: English
Format: Book

ISBN/STANDARD NUMBER
9781455563937
9781455563920

SUBJECTS
Families -- Korea -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.