Press enter after choosing selection

The Boat Runner

Murphy, Devin. Book - 2017 Fiction / Murphy, Devin 1 On Shelf No requests on this item Community Rating: 3 out of 5

Cover image for The boat runner

Sign in to request

Locations
Call Number: Fiction / Murphy, Devin
On Shelf At: Downtown Library

Location & Checkout Length Call Number Checkout Length Item Status
Downtown 2nd Floor
4-week checkout
Fiction / Murphy, Devin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Malletts Adult Books
4-week checkout
Fiction / Murphy, Devin 4-week checkout Due 06-20-2022

Includes P.S. Insights, interviews & more....
In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory. When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life-and his life's mission-forever. Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.

REVIEWS & SUMMARIES

Library Journal Review
Booklist Review
Publishers Weekly Review
Summary / Annotation
Author Notes

COMMUNITY REVIEWS

No community reviews. Write one below!

Cover image for The boat runner

PUBLISHED
New York HarperPerennial, [2017].
Year Published: 2017
Description: 370, 13 pages ; 20 cm.
Language: English
Format: Book

ISBN/STANDARD NUMBER
9780062658012
0062658018

SUBJECTS
Hitler-Jugend -- Fiction.
Brothers -- Fiction.
Teenage boys -- Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Participation, Dutch -- Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Rescue -- Fiction.
Historical fiction.