Press enter after choosing selection

Almost American Girl : : an Illustrated Memoir

Ha, Robin. Graphic Novel - 2020 Teen Graphic Novel / Ha, Robin, Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 7 On Shelf 1 request on 12 copies Community Rating: 3.9 out of 5

Cover image for Almost American girl : : an illustrated memoir

Sign in to request

Locations
Call Number: Teen Graphic Novel / Ha, Robin, Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin
On Shelf At: Downtown Library, Pittsfield Branch, Traverwood Branch

Location & Checkout Length Call Number Checkout Length Item Status
Downtown Teen, 1st Floor
4-week checkout
Teen Graphic Novel / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Downtown Teen, 1st Floor
4-week checkout
Teen Graphic Novel / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Downtown Teen, 1st Floor
4-week checkout
Teen Graphic Novel / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Downtown Teen, 1st Floor
4-week checkout
Teen Graphic Novel / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Pittsfield Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Pittsfield Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout Due 02-05-2022
Traverwood Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Traverwood Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Shelf
Westgate Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout On Hold Shelf
Westgate Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout Due 02-19-2022
Malletts Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout Due 02-07-2022
Malletts Teen Books
4-week checkout
Teen Book / Comics & Graphic Novels / Nonfiction / Biography / Ha, Robin 4-week checkout Due 02-12-2022

"A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.

REVIEWS & SUMMARIES

School Library Journal Review
Booklist Review
Publishers Weekly Review
Summary / Annotation
Fiction Profile

COMMUNITY REVIEWS

Graphic Novel Memoir of Korea & Alabama submitted by sdunav on June 11, 2021, 12:38pm Insightful look at growing up with a strong, strict, and single mother in Korea, and then Alabama in the US. Fascinating to compare gender roles, parenting, and prejudice in the two places, and how a nerdy comic book fan managed to become an acclaimed author (I hope! She deserves it!) of a graphic novel memoir.

Important book for building empathy and compassion submitted by TeacherN on June 28, 2021, 2:39pm I'm not a big fan of YA or graphic novels, but I absolutely LOVED this book. We all need books like this to help build empathy and compassion. I gave it to my 15-year-old son to read. He also enjoyed it.

Important book for building empathy and compassion submitted by TeacherN on June 28, 2021, 2:39pm I'm not a big fan of YA or graphic novels, but I absolutely LOVED this book. We all need books like this to help build empathy and compassion. I gave it to my 15-year-old son to read. He also enjoyed it.

Cover image for Almost American girl : : an illustrated memoir

PUBLISHED
New York, N.Y. : Balzer + Bray/Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers, [2020]
Year Published: 2020
Description: 227 pages : chiefly color illustrations ; 24 cm
Language: English
Format: Graphic Novel

ISBN/STANDARD NUMBER
9780062685100
0062685104
9780062685094
0062685090

SUBJECTS
Ha, Robin.
Authors, American -- Falls Church.
Emigration and immigration.
Immigrants.
Mothers and daughters.
Single mothers.
Teenage girls.
Koreans -- United States.
Stepfamilies.
English language -- Study and teaching.
Korean American families.
Korean Americans.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- Authorship.
Graphic novels -- Authorship.
Women immigrants -- Biography.
Women illustrators -- Biography.
Korea.
Alabama.
Graphic novels.
Autobiographical comics.
Nonfiction comics.