Press enter after choosing selection

The Jane Austen Society

Jenner, Natalie. Book - 2020 Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Jenner, Natalie 1 On Shelf 70 requests on 2 copies Community Rating: 4 out of 5

Cover image for The Jane Austen Society

Sign in to request

Locations
Call Number: Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Jenner, Natalie
On Shelf At: Westgate Branch

Location Call Number Branch Item Status
Malletts Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Jenner, Natalie Malletts Creek Branch In transit
Westgate Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Jenner, Natalie Westgate Branch On Shelf

"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris. Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people--a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others--could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"-- Provided by publisher.

REVIEWS & SUMMARIES

Booklist Review
Publishers Weekly Review
Summary / Annotation
Author Notes

COMMUNITY REVIEWS

austen again with a twist submitted by rowleygray on June 15, 2020, 1:46pm this new book based on Jane Austen's books is set in England in the 1940's with many references to the history of Austen and her life and writings. a quick read for anyone who loves jane austen!

Cover image for The Jane Austen Society

PUBLISHED
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2020.
Year Published: 2020
Description: 309 pages ; 25 cm
Language: English
Format: Book

ISBN/STANDARD NUMBER
9781250248732

SUBJECTS
Austen, Jane, -- 1775-1817 -- Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 -- England -- Psychological aspects -- Fiction.
Historical fiction.
Psychological fiction.