Press enter after choosing selection

What you have told us

Here you can search through numerous patron comments and the corresponding AADL replies. Search by the type of comment, in general by what the comment is regarding, or by a particular issue.

We care about what you have to say, and do our best to address each and every concern.

Please let us know how we're doing by submitting a comment or suggestion.

Filter Patron Comments

Date Received: 2021-06-13
Type: complaint
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: I have been on a request list for just about one year. I realize because of the pandemic things are much slower but when I look at the history of a particular book I have requested and see 2 of the books had a due date of early May, I am beginning to the question the whole system. I know need to put this book on hold as I am going out of town for 2 weeks and don't want my request to come up. What are you doing about books not coming back for 6 weeks after due date back? If you want to look at what i am talking about the book by Elin Hilderbrand, 28 Summers Thank you.

AADL Reply: Hi there, thanks for the details, and we're sorry for the delay. We are unfortunately not in control of when things are returned to the library. After we've reopened in July, we will resume billing for long overdue materials, but we're not sending bills for overdue items while we are not open for browsing or in-person customer service. We're sorry for the wait for this item; we would recommend freezing that request if you're going out of town as you're close to the top of the queue. I'm not sure if this is helpful to you, but I do see that the title is available now in ebook through OverDrive or the Libby app: https://mlc.overdrive.com/media/5033487 Thank you for your patience as we work to restore normal library operations. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns, and thanks for using your library. -eli Eli Neiburger (he/him) Deputy Director Ann Arbor District Library


Date Received: 2021-06-09
Type: programs and events
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: A friend of mine told me about an AADL book concierge program, where I could submit titles I’ve enjoyed and then have library staff fill a bag for me with other titles I might enjoy. I can’t find anything about this on the website though. Could you tell me where I can get more information? Thanks!

AADL Reply: Thank you for your email! Here is a link to Shelf Service: https://aadl.org/shelfservice. Here, you'll fill out a form, letting us know what material you're interested in, and we'll fulfill that request. Best, Sherlonya Turner Associate Director, Public Experience and Desk Service


Date Received: 2021-06-05
Type: complaint
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: It's ~4:30 and I just returned from Mallett's Creek with the green roof for a book return and another pickup. Today both sets of double doors are propped open, and the air conditioning is noticeably working. When I challenged this observation (cool air pouring into the open atmosphere) to the person in the monitor, the response was that "we are keeping the air flowing for your safety." WHAT! I have visited this library which I love more than 50 times during the pandemic and these doors have never been propped open during my visits. To add insult to injury, all the pole lights in the parking lot were on. Seems contrary (and wasteful) to the environment and sustainability movements of our community (and the use of our taxes and millage support). PS Although the pandemic isn't over, life is a lot safer for us vaccinated (and mask wearing) citizens.

AADL Reply: Hi there, thanks for asking. We did this most of last summer too. It makes much less impact on the temperature and AC load inside the building than you might imagine, but with cases now so low in the county we may revisit this before our reopening on July 12. This was put back in place when cases were spiking just a few weeks ago based on consistent public health guidance to increase fresh air in places where strangers come into contact with each other. Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns about this; thanks again for your comment, and thanks for using your library. -eli Eli Neiburger (he/him) Deputy Director Ann Arbor District Library


Date Received: 2021-05-30
Type: other
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: Thanks for the great job all (librarians-my heroes!) of you do all the time, & especially during the difficult time of Covid. Looking forward, happily, to reopening. 1) What is going to be the policy for late fees, overdue books cause you have been so generous during Covid. ??? 2) Will we go back to having 7 days to picking up request books or will it still be 2 days? Thanks,

AADL Reply: Hi there, thanks for asking! We are very much looking forward to reopening as well. We do not currently plan to reinstate overdue fees, but we will resume billing for long-overdue items this summer, so patrons will recieve a bill for the replacement cost of items that are 45 days or more overdue. And 2, yes, this is going back to the way it was pre-covid. When your item is ready, you'll get a notice that it's waiting for pickup, and you'll have 7 days to come and check it out off the hold shelves. Let us know if you have any other questions, and thanks for your patience! -eli


Date Received: 2021-05-24
Type: request and renewals
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: Question: Due to covid and the library's new indefinite check out policy, will musical instruments be in circulation for patrons on the waiting lists? There seems to be a long lists of requests on musical instruments for patrons, will delinquents be fined for holding onto musical tools indefinitely? AADL has a large collection of musical instruments, yet, the requests are many, and currently patrons needs are not being satiated. Complaint: It's a little frustrating as a tax payer that the libraries themselves have been closed for over a year, and only available entry upon advanced requests. There are a few musical instruments I would like to try out for a few hours, before deciding whether I want to go make personal purchases for myself. What's the point of having these resources, when they're not accessible to patrons? These instruments cost hundreds to a few thousand dollars, and yet they're all completely checked out, with over dozens in the wait. I understand in having an indefinite check out policy for books and maybe video media, but musical instruments are something special that's uniquely AADL, that helps with impoverished creatives of all ages. There's definitely a need of expression during these times, I don't understand how patrons hoarding creative tools can benefit the community this library district serves. Looking forward to someday try out a few instruments, but I may have already purchased my own copies in the meantime. May the wait times be few for the many. Thank you for your time, ~A patron

AADL Reply: Hi there, thanks for contacting us. We're sorry for the frustration and delay. Please note that we do not have an indefinite check out policy. All checkouts still have due dates and cannot be renewed if someone else is waiting. While we are not currently charging any overdue fees, after we've reopened for browsing on July 12, we will resume billing patrons for the full cost of any item that is more than 45 days overdue. It will take some time to get the tools collection moving again, but we are doing the best we can in a challenging situation. Thanks for your patience, and thanks for using your library! -eli


Date Received: 2021-05-24
Type: compliment
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: Thank you to Dennis for holding my items one more day so I could pick them up! I contacted the library after it had closed already on the second day that my items were waiting to ask for one more day. He replied quickly and I was so happy to find my holds the next day, including items from interlibrary loan. Thank you for this great customer service! katie

AADL Reply: Dear Ms. R, Thank you for taking the time to send an email complimenting Dennis. I am glad that you were able to get your hold items, and I will make sure that Dennis sees your message. Sincerely, Josie Parker Director


Date Received: 2021-05-23
Type: complaint
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: This message is to register a complaint about the fact that AADL hasn’t opened up at all since the lockdown. Most other places have come up with safe ways to have people come in but yet our libraries cannot have people in to browse the shelves? I know I can request something but sometimes you have to see something to know you want to check it out. We pay a lot of tax dollars to this library system and it’s time to reopen, please!

AADL Reply: Hi there, thanks for contacting us. Stay tuned for an announcement our our reopening plans by the end of the month. In the meantime, we also have a service where you tell us roughly what you want, and our staff fill a bag of stuff you'll like. Get started at http://aadl.org/shelfservice . Thanks for your patience, and thanks for using your library! -eli Eli Neiburger Deputy Director Ann Arbor District Library


Date Received: 2021-05-21
Type: general suggestion
Regarding: other

Patron Comment: Please open the libraries. At the very least as a short term transition open the libraries at 9am for pickup of books. This has been 14 mos... It is inconvenient to fit schedules around 12-8. Are you fully staffed with librarians?

AADL Reply: Hello, It is good to hear from you and to know that you are well. We are talking with the Library Board at this coming Monday's Board meeting about reopening the AADL in July. A date and a plan for reopening will be made public after the meeting on Monday evening. Thank you for being so patient as we all have worked through this difficult and sad time. Sincerely, Josie Parker Director


Date Received: 2021-05-20
Type: other
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: Dear A2 Library, I keep hoping that you will be opening for in person service sometime soon but it seems that the wait has been very long. I fully agree with utilizing all safety protocols going forward but wonder if there’s anyway that you could speed the reopening of the library – – it is an essential service to so many of us and while I appreciate the curbside pick up it would be really helpful to be able to come in on a limited basis and select items. Other essential services have been either open throughout the pandemic crisis or able to open more recently with excellent safety protocols and I’m hoping that we can see our library open soon also . I understand that this is a complex issue on very many levels – – my sister is a librarian in the Chicago area. Thank you so much for taking this message, M

AADL Reply: Hello M, Thank you very much for your comment about our re-opening plans. We are discussing re-opening in July at tomorrow evening's Board meeting held via zoom at aadl.org at 7:00 PM. We will announce the date for re-opening after this meeting. We miss having you and the whole of the community using the full services of the AADL, and look forward to seeing you soon in the Library. Sincerely, Josie Parker Director


Date Received: 2021-05-17
Type: compliment
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: I am so excited about the digital magazine option! It took me a little while to understand how to navigate the pages. I chose to read the new issue of Birds and Blooms, and learned lots of new tips for feeding hummingbirds. The AADL is always impressive and has worked hard to keep us reading and watching during the pandemic. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

AADL Reply: We are pleased that you found and used the digital magazine service. We also appreciate your kind words and will make sure the staff sees your note. Take good care. Josie Parker Director