Press enter after choosing selection

ICPJ Flyer: What Is National Security?

Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice
Rights Held By
Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice
OCR Text

Thursday, 8:00 PM
Welcome - Will Hathaway, LSA-SG Representative
Presentation of Resolution of Support from Michigan Legislature
Introduction - Moderator Louis Belcher, Mayor of Ann Arbor
Keynote Address- Rear Admiral Eugene Carroll, u.s. Navy (Ret.)
Center for Defense Information
9:00-11:00 AM, "Economics of American Military & Energy Policies"
Robert DeGrasse, Council on Economic Priorities, N.Y.
David Denoon, u.s. Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense
Marc Ross, Prof. of Physics, University of Michigan
Moderator: Ed Stein, Michigan Student Assembly Representative
Interval: "The Enerjugglers," Mike Weilbacher & Al Stanger
On the steps of Rackham or in the outer lobby
11:30 AM-1:30 PM, "World Politics and Intervention"
Gretchen Eick, United Church of Christ, Washington, D.C.
Allen Whiting, Prof. of Political Science, u of M
David Wurfel, Prof. of Political science, U of Windsor
Moderator: Sue Porter, President, LSA Student Government
Interval: Brass Ensemble, led by carl Daehler (steps or lobby)
2: 00-4: 00 PM, "Defense and the Arms Race"
Lt. Gen. Brent Scowcroft (Ret.), National Security Advisor
to President Gerald Ford
David Singer, Prof. of Political Science, u of M
Moderator: Ruste Fischer, MSA Representative
Interval: Percy Danforth and Greg Ross, Bones and Guitar
(steps or outer lobby of Rackham)
4:30-6:30 PM, "Morality or Rationality of Nuclear weapons"
Alvin Saperstein, Prof. of Physics, Wayne State University
Rev. Peter Shidemantle, Swords into Plowshares, Cleveland
Joe Volk, American Friends Service Committee
Moderator: John Feiger, President, Michigan student Assembly
Interval: disperse for evening meal
8:00-10:00 PM, "U.S. Policies in the Middle East: Problems
and Prospects11
Jerrold Green, Ass't. Prof. of Political science, U of M
K. Allin Luther, Prof. of Near Eastern Studies, U of M
Richard Mitchell, Prof. of Near Eastern & North African
History, University of Michigan
Moderator: Richard Mitchell
Lou Belcher, Perry Bullard, Joyce Chesbrough, Kathleen Dannemiller,
Paul Dotson, Gerald Dunn, Douglas Evett, Barbara Fuller, Russell Fuller,
Arthur Gallagher, Robert Gamble, Susan Greenberg, Earl Greene, John
Hathaway, Ted Heusel, William Hillegonds, Herbert Lowe, catherine
McClary, Helen Milliken, Jitsuo Morikawa, Leslie Morris, Meri Lou Murray,
Theodore Newcomb, Lowell Peterson, Ken Phifer, Ed Pierce, Lana Pollack,
John Powell, Sarah Power, carl Pursell, Hazen schumacher, Richard
Singleton, Roy Smith, Neil Staebler, Lou Velker, Gordon Ward, James
White, AAUW (Ann Arbor Branch), Ecumenical Campus Center, Friends'
Meetinghouse, Guild House, Interfaith Council for Peace, LSA student
Government, League of Women Voters, Michigan student Assembly,
U of M Political Science Department, u.s. Navy League (Huron Valley).
Funds provided by Michigan Student Assembly and LSA Student Government.

Download PDF