Press enter after choosing selection

Odd Fellows Lodge At Saline

Odd Fellows Lodge At Saline image
Parent Issue
Public Domain
OCR Text

During tho past few weeks active preparations have been in progress ior the establishment ef a'lodge of Odd Fellows at Saline, and on Thursday of last week the lodge was instituted under the name of Saline Lodge, No. 272. The hall of the new lodge is what was formerly known as Burkhardt fc Aldrich's Hall, which has been secured for a number of years, fitted up in elegant style, and, after a little more furnishing, will be excelled by but few lodge-rooms in the State. The members compoaing the new lodge were formerly connected with Wolverine Lodge, No. 197, at the village of Milan, having withdrawn from that lodge for the purpose of instituting the new one. There was a large attendance oí the brothorhood - about 50 from Milan, 20 from Ann Arbor, and a few from Manchester and other,, localities. At about 3 o'clock p. m. the members of the order assembled at the lodge-room to witness the ceremonies of instituting the new lodge The meeting was calle d to order by Grand Master George Dean, of Detroit, who, after a short address, called to his aid the following Past Grands, representatives of the Grand Lodge of the State: Deputy G. M.- E. E. Newkirk, Bay City. Grand Watden - J. Sprague, Ann Arbor. Grand Marshal- D. Cramer, Ann Arbor. Grand Secretary - E. W. Mead, Milán. Grand Treasurer- C. Krapf, Ann Arbor. Chaplain - Rev. J. B. Gilman, Manchester. The dispensation granting authority to establish the lodge vras read, after which the work of institution was prooeeded with. The dispensation contained the followiug naines : E. A. Beynolds, J. Easterly, M. E. Easterly, J. J. Sohairer, Geo. R. Fulkerson, Oscar Fulkerson, Lorin Colé, G. E. Harriott, E. M. LeBaron, Wm. Derringer, Wm. Lamb, J. R. Fowler, C. Jacksun, H. McMichael, A. C. Cole, N. A. Waugh, Stephen O. Gray. The followiug oflioers were elected and installed : Noble Grand, J. J. Schairer. Vice Graud, Wm. Lamb. Recording Secretary, N. A. Waugh. TreaBurer, J. R. Fowler. Permanent Secretary, John Eastarly, Warden, M. E. Easterly. Conductor, Stephen O. Gray. Inside Guardian, A. C. Cole. Outside Guardian, Oscar Fulkerson. K. S. N. G., Loren Cole. L. S. N. G., Wm. Derrmger. E. S. V. G., Geo. R. Fulkerson. L. S. V. G., Chas. Jackson. R. S. S., E. M. LeBaron. L. 8, 8., H. McMichael. E. A. Reynolds was elected Representativa to the Grand Lodge. After the ceremony of installation was completed the Grand Master delivered a short address, in which he oongratulated the members on the auspicious commencement of their lodge, the fine appearance of the membership and hall, predioting a prosperous career, and gave the members considerable advioe relative to the successful management of the lodge. The Grand Master was followed with short speeches by Messrs. Sprague, Newkirk, Gilman, Cramer, Krapf, and others. The speech-making was terminated by E. A. Reynoldi obtainint; the floor and, in behalf of the members of Saline Lodge, inviting all present to partake of a supper prepared at the Exchange hotel. In the evening the first meeting of the lodge was held, at which two candidates were elected and initiated. The regular meetings of the lodge are be held on Thursday evening of each week.