Press enter after choosing selection

Kiwanis Aim For $10,000 In Sale, Slated Jan. 29 - 31

Kiwanis Aim For $10,000 In Sale, Slated Jan. 29 - 31 image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Kiwanians Aim For $10,000 In Sale, Slated Jan. 29-31

Ann Arbor's Kiwanis Club is shooting for the $10,000 profit mark in its 27th annual sale, set for Jan. 29-31 at the Armory, General Chairman Clinton E. Castor announced today. The sale netted $8,300, a record, last year.

The sale profits will benefit the club's children's aid projects, particularly the Forney W. Clement Memorial Fund for crippled children at University Hospital.

Castor asked all residents of the area who have articles they would like to donate for sale to telephone 2-4558 for pick-up service. "We’ll take anything of value,” Castor emphasized. "Nothing is too big or two small."

Assisting Castor as co-chairman is James N. Morgan. Mrs. Ronald C. Wolf is chairman of the women's division, with Mrs. Russell M. Sharpe as co-chairman.

Committee Heads Named

Castor announced the following committee heads to work on the sale:

Drugs, Russell M. Sharpe; pick-up, Wendell J. LaCoe; men's suits, John Wurster; hardware, Carl O. Rice; auto accessories, Herbert L. deGroff; property, Fred Jaeger; housekeeping, Howard G. Minier; 4-H Clubs, Don I. Johnson; furniture, Maynard Allen; groceries, Mel Ivory; shoes, Ralph W. Meanwell; books, John M. Trytten; public address system, Howard V. Walters; publicity, Stephen J. Filipiak.

Chairmen in the women's division include:

Dresses, Mrs. Lauren J. Jedele (Mrs. Frederick J. Schmid, co-chairman); millinery, Mrs. Earl N. Riskey; baked goods, Mrs. Wendell J. LaCoe; blouses, shirts and lingerie, Mrs. W. Charles Gregory (Mrs. Murray D. Wanty, co-chairman); draperies; curtains and notions, Mrs. Clinton E. Castor; hot dogs, Mrs. D. E. Walker; men’s shirts and underwear, Mrs. Herbert S. Hicks; lunch room, Mrs. Calvin A. Wolf; children’s department, Mrs. Leo A. Haner; toys and games, Mrs. Herbert E. Welhener; china and glassware, Mrs. Ragnar L. Arnesen; jewelry, Mrs. George F. Smalley (Mrs. Fred Seyfried, co-chairman).