Press enter after choosing selection

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #670

Mon, 05/28/2018 - 5:11pm by muffy

high_seasonOn Memorial weekend, the population of Orient, a small hamlet at the easternmost tip of Long Island’s North Fork braces for the onslaught of the summer people. Many homeowners like Ruthie Beamish vacate their homes for their wealthy Manhattan renters so they could afford to stay in their homes the rest of the year.

This particular summer, Ruthie’s beloved home is not the only thing she would lose - her assistant is scheming for her job as the director of a small regional museum; her Board support is evaporating under machinations of a coterie of rich women from the city; her ex-husband (and good friend) Mike, has fallen for their renter Adeline Clay, who happens to be the widow of Peter Clay, the celebrated artist Ruthie once worked for; and their teenaged daughter Jem, is involved in dangerous relationships. Out of desperation, Ruthie pushes back, in ways that would even astonish herself.

The High Season * * is National Book Award for Young People’s Literature winner Judy Blundell’s first adult title ."Luscious but not too sweet, astute but not too serious, Blundell's novel is a treat you don't have to feel guilty about and a sign of good things to come." (Kirkus Reviews) 

For fans of Mary Kay Andrews, Elin Hilderbrand,  Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer;  and other summer reads.

* * = 2 starred reviews

 

Graphic for blog posts

Blog Post

Subjects
Reviews
Fabulous Fiction Firsts