Press enter after choosing selection

Flora Ward, Ann Arbor School board member, 1938

Flora Ward, Ann Arbor School board member, 1938 image
Published In
Ann Arbor News, May 16, 1961
"Ye Old Editor Has His Say: May 16, 1941: As a crowd of 500 friends hooted and hissed, and a small knot of foes surreptitiously applauded, the school board voted, 5-4, to dismiss Otto W. Haisley, superintendent of the Ann Arbor school system for 17 years. The five favoring his dismissal were President Van Ameringen, Louis E. Ayres, Max Krutsch, Martha Huss and Flora Ward. Opposing were Courtney Malbetsch, George R. Sidwell, Prof. M. H. Waterman and Raymond Hutzel. After the voting, Trustee Flora Ward (see photo) offered to resign. Chief complaint against Haisley, "too modern." After adjournment the majority remained to choose a committee to investigate the possibility of renewing his contract by means of a referendum or recall vote on those trustees who voted for Haisley's dismissal. The committee chosen includes Walter H. Springer, Neil Staebler, Dean E. Blythe Stason, Prof. Arthur B. Moehlman, Mac E. Watterworth, Mrs. Ralph Sawyer, Fred Norris, Lewis E. Reimann and Herbert H. Twining.

Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.