Press enter after choosing selection

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #719, a British Rom-Com

Tue, 12/10/2019 - 8:00pm by muffy

get_a_life_chloe_brown

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2019 by Kirkus Reviews, Get a Life, Chloe Brown * * *  launches the first in the Brown Sister series by self-published author Talia Hibbert, and marks her first release by a mainstream publisher. 

“(A) socially inept control freak" by her own account, Chloe Brown is forced to re-examine her life after a near-death experience.  Chronically-ill (Fibromyalgia), and practically home-bound, her whole social circle consists of her siblings and family. Then she comes up with seven directives to help her "Get a Life". At the top of the list - move out of her family's palatial home into her own apartment, where she immediately runs afoul with the snarky building superintendent, Redford "Red" Morgan who sees her as yet another privileged, spoiled brat. Buff, tattooed, with an easy smile that quickly charmed her sisters and all the other residents, Chloe is determined not to like him, that is until they strike a bargain. 

“This interracial romance with a disabled heroine is an #OwnVoices treat that will satisfy readers who love a cinnamon-roll hero and love scenes that scorch the dang pages. “ (Booklist) 

“...(t)his is an incredibly funny, romantic, and uplifting book. Red is as charming, sexy, and vulnerable as can be, but Chloe steals the show with her sarcasm, wit, and eccentric coping mechanisms.” (Kirkus Reviews) . For fans of  Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang. For another steamy, interracial romance, try Not the Girl You Marry by Andie J. Christopher, one with a surprising UM/Ann Arbor connection.

* * * = 3 starred reviews

Graphic for blog posts

Blog Post

Subjects
Reviews
Fabulous Fiction Firsts