Press enter after choosing selection

Escape to Faerie

Fri, 12/04/2020 - 8:25pm by scarbroughc

In this crazy, mixed up world we’re living in, escapism is a must. And you can’t do any better than Holly Black’s The Folk of the Air trilogy, made up of The Cruel Prince, Wicked King, and The Queen of Nothing. The books, the first of which was published in 2018, follow the character of Jude Duarte, a human girl, as she navigates the beautiful and cut-throat world of Faerie. Over the course of the series, 17 year old Jude deals with court politics, power struggles, and her own feelings. Along the way, she comes into contact with a colorful cast of characters that really give these books a distinctive flavor.

The Trilogy

With her signature dark, quirky style, Holly Black presents a story full of magic, romance, and swordplay. Whereas many authors shy away from   true enemies to lovers style romantic tension, Black leans into it, making these books and characters completely unforgettable. Despite the fantastical setting, Jude’s struggles are relatable and readers are bound to root for her. With a new novella related to the series just released at the end of November, now is the perfect time to dig into this rich world! These books can’t be missed.

Graphic for blog posts

Blog Post