Press enter after choosing selection

Champs Sit For Squad Picture

Champs Sit For Squad Picture image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

CHAMPS SIT FOR A SQUAD PICTURE: Ann Arbor High's Five-A League football champions concluded business for 1951 yesterday by sitting for the official squad picture and naming a new captain and a most valuable player. End Marv Baker, who scored five touchdowns and kicked one extra point, will succeed another flanker, Jim Cartwright to the captaincy. Line-Backer Doug Nordman, key man in a Pioneer defense that shut out five opponents in eight games, was named most valuable player and will have his name engraved on the Bill Ball Trophy. Here are the champs with the letter-L-following names of the 36 recommended for varsity letters: Bottom row, left to right: Ernie McCoy (L), Jack Lichty (L), John Heald (L), George Hartman (L), Bob Barr (L), Brian Fingerle (L), Harold Shilling (L), Bill Walz (L), and Doug Nordman (L). Second row: End Coach Frank Kline, Dick Zill (L), Sheridan Springer (L), Al Jesperson (L), Marvin Fraker (L), Capt. Cartwright (L), Chuck Featherly (L), Prenty Ware (L), Paul Uhlendorf (L), Art Hughes (L). Third row: Coach Hank Fonde, Coleman Jewett, Doug Bock (L), John Smith (L), Capt.-Elect Baker (L), Ned Jones (L), Tom Sibert (L), Hugh Correll (L), Duane Calvert (L), and Chris Toshcoff (L). Fourth row: Line Coach Don Dufek, John Batsakes (L), George Pullen (L), Harry Shore (L), John Kagay (L), Bob Parker, Jim Meyer (L), Bob St. Clair (L), Dick Sleet (L), and Bill Royce. Top row: Manager Bob Creel, Manager Wilbur Shilling, Joe Bone, Tom Couper, Bill Adams, Bill Green (L), Garth Rowland (L), Manager Dick Alstrom, and Manager Morton Hirshman. Missing from the picture are Bob Mattis (L), and Don Hakala.