Press enter after choosing selection

Townships Have A Variety Of

Townships Have A Variety Of image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Numerous candidates are seeking party nominations for township offices in the Aug. 6 Primary Election. In Augusta Township, three persons will be vying for the Democratie nomination for supervisor. They include Sylvester J. BTaszak, former supervisor, and James R. Burns and Henry C. Kailimai. Republicans Auston W. Bennett and Deanna R. Sundermann are seeking the nomination for clerk. Three Democrats and two Republicans are seeking their parties' nominations for the four-year trustee post. Democratie contenders include Joe Hardwick, Incumbent Carol Kovalak and Ralph G. Winkler. Republican candidates are Robert G. Pascoe and Irene E. Yunkman. William'V. Pirgo and Harold Williams are running for the Republican nomination for the two-year trustee seat. Two persons will be seeking the Republican nomination for Lodi Township supervisor. They include incumbent Erwin Frederick and A. Clark (Pete) Pardon. In Manchester Township, three Republicans will be competing for the nomination for the two six-year positions on the Township Library Board. They are Sharon K. Hunt, Lois D. Kuntz and Doris Mahony. Three Republicans are running for the supervisor's nomination in Northfield Township. They are Joseph C. Cahill, George Meyer and Henry Ruh. Republican Incumbent Harry E. Colestock will be facing Rose C. Lavender and Ralph O. Williams for nomination to the four-year trustee vacancy. For the two-year trustee post. incumbent Ralph M. Laidlaw will take on Maynard L. Dixon for the Republican nomination. There will also be a contest for the Republican nomination for the two constable positions. Incumbents Elmer F. Klump and John A. Reutter will be opposed by Paul A. Rebman. ín Superior Township, four persons will be vying for the Democratie nomination for two four-year trustee vacancies. Candidates include incumbents Percy Carter and Diana M. Parkes who will be opposed by Donald Dugas and A. WilliamEckert. Raymond T. Dotts will be pitted against Donald Zeèb for the Republican nomination for Webster Township supervisor. There will be a Republican contest for nomination to every major office in York Township. Dale E. Dolph will be pitted against incumbent Charles S. Hayes for the nomination for supervisor. Clerk Ruth E. Finch will face Dolores J. Schmidt for the nomination. Treasurer Edwin Lathers will take on Constance A. Crorey. Three Republicans will be seeking nomination for the two four-year York trustee seats. One of the posts is a new position created this year. Candidates include incumbent Richard Wanty, Gary R. Sanch and Christina L. Clarke. James R. Spears and Ray E. Youngs will be competing for the nomination for the two-year trustee job.