Press enter after choosing selection

Vermont Prohibitionists

Vermont Prohibitionists image
Parent Issue
Public Domain
OCR Text

MOXTPELIER, Vt., June i:$. - There were fifty persons in CapĂ­tol hall when the Prohibition state eonventlon was called to order yesterday by Clinton Smith. W. L. Pearl, of St. Johnsbury, was made temporary cbairman. After the committees had been appoiuted and the chairmau had delivered an address, tnainly in deimnciation of the Republic&n purty for its attitude oa the temperance questiou,a f nenas was taken to the afterQOOn. After recess the following state offleers werenominated: Governor, HenryM. Seeley, of Middlebury; lieutenant governor, George E. Crowell, of Brattleboro: secretary of state, Archibald O. Ferguson, of Burlington; auditor, C. S. Parker, of Elmore; treasurer, A. B. Bixby, of Poultney. Congressmen: First district, Peter Daken; Seooud district, C. W. W'yrnan. Resolutions were adopted declaring tlie making and sale of liquor criminal; demanding proliibition amendments to the constitution; favoring women suffrage; calling for abolition of the internal reveuue system, and coudemning the Republican party. Samuel Dickie, of Michigan, chairman of the national committee, and other prominent Prohibitionists, addressed the convention at an evening session.


Ann Arbor Argus
Old News