2022 It's All Write Teen Writing Contest Finalist List

Please note: there are different numbers of finalists in each category due to different numbers of submissions in each category. Finalists will now be passed on to our published YA author judges for the selection of the top three winners in each category.

Winners will be announced at our online awards ceremony at 2pm on Saturday, May 21, 2022. You'll be able to view the ceremony on YouTube and on aadl.org.

After the awards ceremony, we will reach out to winners to confirm addresses and ask for the format you would like your prize in: check, Amazon gift card, or Target gift card. This will then be mailed to you.

Congratulations to all of our fabulous writers in 2022 and stay tuned for the announcement of our winners on May 21!

Finalists are listed in no particular order:

Short Story Finalists

6-8th Grade

"Someone to Talk To," Audrey Braun "Memory of Northern France," Ramona Wilke "I Think I Love You," Nuala Small-Swihart "Truth," Simon Steggall-Lewis "The Orange Skies Under the Burning Sun," Seth Zubke "The Ratcatchers," Andrew Li "Just Float," Kate Gilchrist "Seam 56," Oskar MacArthur "Shoeshine Boy," Olivia Szczepanski "The Story About a Carnivorous Plant," McKenna Murray "Limitless," Lydia Schram "Jasper Wisterias," Rhea Dhar "Sea of Stones," Jasmine Yuan "The Choice," Carolyn Nelson "Thunder and Lightning," Calla Sopoci

9-10th Grade

"Flowers of Ash," Annika Maddock "The Letter," Mikayla Michalak "Waifs," Anonymous "Code Zenith," Claire Wang "The Scientist," Kriya Jaiganesh "1,001 Sessions With My Therapist," Anonymous "Watcher – The Monk and the Moth," Kathryn Plotner

11-12th Grade

"Kyrielle," Sofiia Shapovalova "Armageddon: A Brief Glimpse Into the Soul of America," Gabriel Semrau "Knot of Glass," Claire Schultz "Stained Glass," Anonymous "The Ghost With a Breathing Mask," Mahdi Aqrabi "The Griffin's Gift," Zoe McComas "Mary," Molly Reiser

Flash Fiction Finalists 6-8th Grade

"Lightning," Sean Miao
"Silence," Kyle Davey
"The Dying Girl Who Lived," Hannah Seifer
"Four Minutes and Thirty-Eight Seconds," Simon Steggall-Lewis
"Solitaire," Tova Weiss
"I Thrived," Sky Seedman
"The Pebble," Andrew Li
"When It's Dark," Erin Kim
"Reflection," Daniel Distelzweig
"I Wonder," Alexandra Strauss
"Turn," Mina Lacin
"Dusk Cab Ride," Anonymous
"To Learn to Love," Liya Zhang
"My Blind Eye," Kai He

9-10th Grade

"The Disappearances," Malia Weber "I'll Dream," Grace Liu "Seasonally Affected," Ainsley Maddock "I Am Not Icarus," Maia Genisio "Breathless," Shangyang Xia "Language of Flowers," Jessica Jia "After," Eliza Braunschneider "Dancing With the Rain," Avery Heath "Two Thousand Meters," Joshua Lee

11-12th Grade

"Too Weak, Too Strong," Ain Hasdi Rodzmann "The House on the Hill," Olivia Palmbos "Case Number?," Fiona Lin "Here Again," Nushaba Hossain "Have a Heart," Julia Mei "Be My Mother," Lama Ammari

Poetry Finalists

6-8th Grade

"Peacock," Tessia Knollmeyer "It's Been Eight Years," Jasmine Scott "Bike Ride," Elliot Hoyle "Raven," Anonymous "The Red Car," Stella Dougherty "Cactus," Charlotte Wright "Automantonophobia," Anabelle St. Aubin "Hanging Off a Cliff," Sonya Rosenthal "Why We Walk," Anonymous "Who I Am," Tamsin Aherne "Dear Bully," Simon Steggall-Lewis "Real Freedom," Madison White "Good Day, Ann Arbor," Ben Kline "Cake," Katherine Schorer "Thirteen," Tessa Perrin "Mom," Angelina Slusser "Harmony," Andrew Li "Recess in Winter," Brady Collins "Ode to Murphy," Miles Tranchida "A Light Shines Through," Alexander Emery "Rubble," Mia Lin "Colors of War," Irene Kim "O' thy lychee black tea with lychee popping boba," Melissa Yang "Change," Anjali Nadarajah "of a star-lit candle burning out," Jennifer Tang "The Cyclamen," Simon Bhuiyan "The Tiger in the Woods," Anna Yin "Voices of Escape," Isabel Yuan "Little One," Sophia Gutierrez Sabau "Swirl Girl," Diya Oberoi

9-10th Grade

"My Cocoon," Reem Alwan
"Society or Self," Maya Weiss
"You Didn't Say No," Jessica Ikel-Johnson
"Where the Moon Was Highest," Mikayla Michalak
"Incendiary," Lauren Schunder
"Rainfall," Grace Yao
"if I could," Arella He
"The Only Way Out," Liam Distelzweig
"Childhood Games," Molly Stone
"Chess," Natalie Guo
"Exoneration of the White Man," Anonymous
"I am a mosaic," Ashe Watson
"Stars at Midnight," Zain Rahim
"Dysfunction in a Minor Key, Performed on Violin," Kathryn Plotner
"Fall of Leaves," Mariana Rosas-Martinez

11-12th Grade

"Healing," Emmeline Kryscynski
"Ode to a Long Dead Poet," Vanessa Chapin
"Thoughts When I Ate an Orange," Yuqing Wang
"lampyridae's lullaby," Zoe Doxey-Van Heest
"Everything Is So Much Smaller," Matthew Neal
"C'est la vie," Phoebe Hart
"Building Peace," Claire Schultz
"No Turning Back," Gracie Hou
"Youth Caves In," Zoe McComas
"Eyelash," Max Janevic
"orbit," Maggie Watson
"The End," Anonymous
"And Such Is Their Victory," Nathaniel Mills
"Racism called, it wants its ignorance back," Jovanay Taylor