The University Musical Society

The University of Michigan

Presents

With the support of the Michigan State Council for the Arts

NIKOLAIS DANCE THEATRE

zent.h

CAROLYN CARLSON, BOB BESWICK, EMERY HERMANS, VIRGINIA LAIDLAW, CLAUDIA MELROSE, GALE ORMISTON, GERALD OTTE, WANDA PRUSKA, ROBERT SOLOMON, and JEANETTE STONER

> Choreography, Sound Score, Costumes, Lighting, and Stage Designs by ALWIN NIKOLAIS

WEDNESDAY EVENING, JANUARY 21, 1970, AT 8:30

HILL AUDITORIUM, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN

PROGRAM

Divertissement

Mantis (from Imago, 1963)	•		Bob Beswick, Emery Hermans, Gale Ormiston, Gerald Otte and Robert Solomon
Noumenom (from Masks, Props and Mobiles, 1953)	•	•	Virginia Laidlaw, Jeanette Stoner and Wanda Pruska
Duet (from Somniloquy, 1968)		•	Bob Beswick and Carolyn Carlson
Tensile Involvement (from Masks, Props and Mobiles, 1	.953)	The Company

INTERMISSION

Tower

INTERMISSION

Tent

Prologue and five sections performed by The Company TENT was commissioned by the University of South Florida and was made possible in part by a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation. It was premièred at the University in June 1968.

STAFF FOR MR. NIKOLAIS

Production Manager			RUTH GRAUERT
Stage Manager .			JON GARNESS
Sound Technician			JOHN DAVIS
Costume Director			FRANK GARCIA

This performance is the final appearance in a three-day in-residence program made possible (as was the Limon Dance Company visit in October) through the National Endowment for the Arts and the Michigan State Council for the Arts. Master-classes, panel discussions, repertory classes, interviews, television studio tapes, open rehearsals, and a public lecture-demonstration, comprised the total program.

Remaining Performances in the Dance Series

Special Concert

SVIATOSLAV RICHTER, Soviet Pianist, in recital . 8:30, Tuesday, March 31 Tickets: \$7.00—\$6.50—\$6.00—\$5.00—\$3.50—\$2.50

at Society's office in

BURTON MEMORIAL TOWER, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN 48104 Office Hours: Mon. thru Fri. 9 to 4:30, Sat. 9 to 12 (Telephone 665-3717)

UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY

Gail W. Rector, President Roscoe O. Bonisteel, Vice-President Erich A. Walter, Secretary E. Thurston Thieme, Treasurer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

William L. Brittain Douglas D. Crary Robben W. Fleming Harlan Hatcher Paul G. Kauper Wilbur K. Pierpont Daniel H. Schurz Stephen H. Spurr