Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1961: Sixty-eighth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1961: Sixty-eighth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1961: Sixty-eighth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
7
Month
May
Year
1961
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-second
Concert: Sixth
Complete Series: 3324
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1960 Eighty-second Season 1961
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail VV. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Sixth Concert Complete Series 3324
Sixty-eighth Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOIST
EUGENE ISTOMIN, Pianist
Sunday Evening, May 7, 1961, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Compositions of Sergei Rachmaninoff Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14
?Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18, for Piano and Orchestra
Moderato
Adagio sostenuto Allegro scherzando
Eugene Istomin
INTERMISSION
?Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27
Largo; allegro moderato Allegro molto Adagio Allegro vivace
Columbia Records
The Sleinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
1961 UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY CONCERTS 1962
Choral Union Series
George London, Bass.......Wednesday, October 4
The Roger Wagner Chorale.....Thursday, October 19
Boston Symphony Orchestra .... 2:30, Sunday, October 22
Charles Munch, Conductor Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra .... Friday, November 3
Herbert von Karajan, Conductor
?Bayanihan (Philippine Songs and Dances) . . Monday, November 6 Yehudi Menuhin, Violinist .... 2:30, Sunday, November 12
Galina Vishnevskaya, Soprano.....Tuesday, November 21
Emil Gilels, Pianist........Tuesday, February 13
Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra . . . 2:30, Sunday, March 4 Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, Conductor
?American Ballet Theatre......Saturday, March 24
Season Tickets: $20.00--$17.00--$15.00--$12.00--$10.00
Extra Series
Mazowsze (Polish Songs and Dances) .... Tuesday, October 24 The Cleveland Orchestra.....Thursday, November 16
George Szell, Conductor
Rudolf Serkin, Pianist.......Monday, November 27
Boston Pops Tour Orchestra . . . . 2:30, Sunday, February 18
Arthur Fiedler, Conductor Leontyne Price, Soprano.......Monday, March 12
Season Tickets: $10.00--$8.50--$7.50--$6.00--$5.00
Special Concerts
Boston Symphony Orchestra . . (homecoming) Saturday, October 21
Charles Munch, Conductor
Messiah (annual Christmas concerts) . . 8:30, Saturday, December 3
2:30, Sunday, December 4
Ilona Kombrink, soprano Lili Chookasian, contralto Richard Miller, tenor
Ara Berberian, bass
Mary McCall Stubbins, organist
Lester McCoy, conductor
University Choral Union and Orchestra
Chamber Music Concerts
New York Pro Musica......2:30, Sunday, October 29
Richard Dyer-Bennet, Classical Folk Singer . . Friday, January 12 Chamber Music Festival (3 concerts) .... February 23, 24, 25 Juilliard Quartet; Eger Players; Beaux Arts Trio
Ann Arbor May Festival
The Philadelphia Orchestra.......May 3, 4, 5, 6
Eugene Ormandy, conductor; guest conductors, and soloists.
NOTE--The events designated by asterisks will utilize special stage sets, light?ing, and curtains, to enhance the productions. These innovations make possible presentation of certain staged musical and dance groups not previously considered for Hill Auditorium.
For tickets and information, address: University Musical Society, Burton Memorial Tower

Download PDF