Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 4, 1962: Sixty-ninth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 4, 1962: Sixty-ninth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 4, 1962: Sixty-ninth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
4
Month
May
Year
1962
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Second
Complete Series: 3351
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1961 Eightythird Season 1962
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail VV. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Second Concert
Complete Series 3351
Sixtyninth Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA
THE UNIVERSITY CHORAL UNION
THOR JOHNSON, Guest Conductor
SOLOISTS
PHYLLIS CURTIN, Soprano
RICHARD LEWIS, Tenor DONALD GRAMM, BassBaritone
Friday Evening, May 4, 1962, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM Compositions of British Composers
Partita for Orchestra
Toccata
Pastorale Siciliana Giga Burlesca
Excerpts from the Opera Troilus and Cressida
Richard Lewis and Phyllis Curtin
INTERMISSION
Dona nobis pacem, a Cantata for Soprano, Baritone, Chorus, and Orchestra.....
Phyllis Curtin, Donald Gramm, and University CnoRAL Union Mary McCall Stubbins, Organ
Walton
Walton
Vaughan Williams
Program books containing notes on works performed on sale in the lobby.
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
A R S
L O N G A
VITA
B R E V I S
1962 UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY PRESENTATIONS 1963
Choral Union Series
Robert Merrill, Baritone......Thursday, September 27
Detroit Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, October 7
Paul Paray, Conductor "La Traviata" (Verdi)........Friday, October 19
Goldovsky Grand Opera Theater French National Orchestra.....Wednesday, October 24
Charles Munch, Conductor Uday Shankar Hindu Dance Company . . Tuesday, November 6
Leningrad Philharmonic......Monday, November 12
"Marriage of Figaro" (Mozart) .... Saturday, November 17
New York City Opera Company Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra . . . Wednesday, February 14
William Steinberg, Conductor
Tokyo Classical Ballet, "Komaki" . . . (2:30) Sunday, March 3 Toronto Symphony Orchestra.....Tuesday, March 12
Walter Susskind, Conductor; Annie Fischer, Piano soloist Season Tickets: $20:00--$17.00--$15.00--$12.00--$10.00
Extra Series
"Carmen" (Bizet)--Wagner Opera Company production of
New York Opera Festival......Saturday, October 20
National Ballet of Canada......Friday, November 9
"Rigoletto" (Verdi)......(2:30) Sunday, November 18
New York City Opera Company
NDR Symphony Orchestra of Hamburg . . Wednesday, January 16 Hans SchmidtIssertedt, Conductor
Birgit Nilsson, Soprano.......Monday, March 18
Season Tickets: $10.00--$8.50--$7.50--$6.00--$5.00
Special Concerts
Messiah (Handel)--two performances . . . Saturday, December 1
(2:30) Sunday, December 2
University Choral Union and University Symphony Orchestra
Soloists: Saramae Endich Rolf Bjoerling
Louise Parker Norman Farrow
Organist: Mary McCall Stubbins
Conductor: Lester McCoy
Chamber Music Concerts
Chicago Little Symphony .... (2:30) Sunday, December 9
Thor Johnson, Conductor Chamber Music Festival (5 concerts) . . February 20, 21, 22, 23, 24
Budapest Quartet--complete Beethoven cycle Julian Bream, Guitarist and Lutist . . . (2:30) Sunday, March 31
Ann Arbor May Festival
The Philadelphia Orchestra......May 9, 10, 11, 12
Eugene Ormandy, Conductor; guest conductors and soloists
FINAL EVENT THIS SEASON UKRANIAN DANCE COMPANY, MAY 30, 1962, IN HILL AUDITORIUM
For tickets and information, address: UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF