Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 12, 1963: Seventieth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 12, 1963: Seventieth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 12, 1963: Seventieth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
12
Month
May
Year
1963
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-fourth
Concert: Sixth
Complete Series: 3391
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1962 Eighty-fourth Season 1963
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail VV. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Sixth Concert Complete Series 3391
Seventieth Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOISTS
RUDOLF SERKIN, Pianist PETER SERKIN, Pianist
Sunday Evening, May 12, 1963, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Passacaglio............Buxtehude
(Transcribed for orchestra by Lucien Cailliet)
Symphony No. 35 in D major ("Haffner"), K. 385 . . . Mozart
Allegro con spirito Andante Menuetto Presto
Concerto No. 10 in E-flat major for Two
Pianos and Orchestra, K. 365.......Mozart
Allegro Andante Rondo
Rudolf and Peter Serkin
INTERMISSION
?Concerto No. 4 in G major for Piano
and Orchestra, Op. 58........Beethoven
Allegro moderato Andante con moto Rondo: vivace
Rudolf Serkin
Columbia Records
The Sleinway is the official piano oj the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano oj the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
1963 UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY PRESENTATION 1964
All presentations are at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted.
Choral Union Series
New York Philharmonic......Wednesday, September 11
Gyorgy Sandor, Pianist.......Tuesday, September 24
Jerome Hines, Bass.........Monday, October 7
Bulgarian National Ensemble......Friday, October 18
The Cleveland Orchestra......Thursday, November 7
Don Giovanni (New York City Opera Co.) . . . Sunday, November 17
Philharmonia Hungarica.......Monday, January 20
Tossy Spivakovsky, Violin Soloist
Mazowsze Dance Company (from Poland) . . . Thursday, January 30 Teresa Berganza, Coloratura mezzo-soprano . . Wednesday, February 26
Chicago Opera Ballet.........Friday, March 13
Season Tickets: $24.00--$20.00--$17.00--$14.00--$12.00
Extra Series
Tosca (Goldovsky Opera Theater) .... Thursday, October 10
Ballet Folklorico of Mexico......Friday, November 1
Madama Butterfly (New York City
Opera Co.)........(2:30) Sunday, November 17
Vienna Symphony Orchestra......Thursday, February 20
Anna Moffo, Soprano.........Friday, April 3
?Season Tickets: $12.00--$10.00--$8.50--$7.00--$6.00
Chamber Arts Series
Kimio Eto, Kotoist, with Suzushi Hanayagi
and assisting musicians........Sunday, October 13
Moscow Chamber Orchestra.....Wednesday, November 13
Julian Bream Consort.......Tuesday, November 26
Sestetto Italiano Luca Merenzio.....Tuesday, December 10
Zurich Chamber Orchestra......Saturday, January 25
Korean Dancers and Musicians.....Sunday, February 9
Orchestra San Pietro of Naples.....Thursday, March 19
?Season Tickets: $14.00--$12.00--$10.00
Annual Christmas Concerts
Messiah (Handel) (Two performances) .... Saturday, December 7
(2:30) Sunday, December 8
Festivals
Chamber Dance Festival
Marina Svetlova Dance Ensemble.....Friday, October 25
Shanta Rao and Dancers and Musicians
from South India........Saturday, October 26
Hungarian Ballets Bihari--Kovach and
Rabovsky with gypsy musicians . . . (2:30) Sunday, October 27 Chamber Musk Festival (three concerts) . . February 14, 15, (2:30) 16
New York Pro Musica, Noah Greenberg, Director
Ann Arbor May Festival (1964) (six concerts) . . April 30, May 1, 2, 3 The Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy, Conductor; guest conductors and soloists
Orders accepted beginning May 1 for these series
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF