Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 3, 1964: Seventy-first Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 3, 1964: Seventy-first Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 3, 1964: Seventy-first Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
3
Month
May
Year
1964
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-fifth
Concert: Sixth
Complete Series: 3429
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1963 Eighty-fifth Season 1964
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Sixth Concert Complete Series 3429
Seventy-first Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOIST
VAN CLIBURN, Pianist
Sunday Evening, May 3, 1964, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Compositions of Sergei Rachmaninoff
?Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14
Concerto No. 3 in D minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 30
Allegro ma non tanto Intermezzo: adagio Finale
Van Cliburn
INTERMISSION
?Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27
Largo: allegro moderato Allegro molto Adagio
Allegro vivace
Columbia Records
The Steinway is the official piano oj the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
A R S 1. 0 X G A VITA B R E V I S
1964 UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY PRESENTATIONS 1965 Summer Concert Series--1964
Four piano recitals in Rackham Auditorium
Gyorgy Sandor..........Thursday, July 2
Daniel Barenboim.........Tuesday, July 7
Eugene Istomin..........Monday, July 20
Ralph Votapek.........Wednesday, July 29
Choral Union Series
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.....Friday, September 25
Antonio and the Ballets de Madrid . . . Thursday, October 8
Warsaw Philharmonic.......Wednesday, October 14
Leonid Kogan, Violinist......Wednesday, November 4
Raduga Dancers........Saturday, November 14
Faust (Gounod) New York City Opera . . . Sunday, November 22 Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra .... Monday, February 8
Rosalyn Tureck, Pianist........Monday, March 1
Robert Merrill, Baritone.......Friday, March 12
National Ballet of Canada.......Saturday, April 3
Extra Series
London Symphony Orchestra......Friday, October 2
Irina Arkhipova, Mezzo-soprano.....Monday, November 9
Merry Widow (Lehar) New York City Opera (2:30) Sunday, November 22
Berlin Philharmonic.......Saturday, January 30
Polish Mime Theater........Saturday, March 6
Chamber Arts Series
Societa Corelli........Wednesday, October 28
New York Chamber Soloists.....Tuesday, November 17
Andres Segovia, Guitarist......Wednesday, January 20
Paris Chamber Orchestra......Sunday, February 14
Netherlands Chamber Choir.....Saturday, February 27
Chicago Little Symphony.......Sunday, March 7
Solisti di Zagreb.........Tuesday, March 30
Annual Christmas Concerts
Messiah (Handel) (Two performances) . . . Saturday, December 5
(2:30) Sunday, December 6
Festivals
Chamber Dance Festival
Paul Taylor Dance Company.....Friday, October 23
Jean Leon Destine Dancers.....Saturday, October 24
First Chamber Dance Quartet . . . (2:30) Sunday, October 25
Chamber Music Festival (five concerts)
Budapest String Quartet.....February 17, 18, 19, 20, 21
Ann Arbor May Festival, 1965 (six concerts) .... May 6, 7, 8, 9 The Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy, Musical Director; guest conductor and soloists.
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF