Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 7, 1964: Daniel Barenboim --

UMS Concert Program, July 7, 1964: Daniel Barenboim --  image UMS Concert Program, July 7, 1964: Daniel Barenboim --  image
Day
7
Month
July
Year
1964
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-fifth
Concert: Second
Complete Series: 3431
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1963 Eighty-fifth Season 1964
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Second Concert Summer Concert Series Complete Series 3431
DANIEL BARENBOIM
Pianist
Tuesday Evening, July 7, 1964, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Compositions of Ludwig van Beethoven
Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 81a ("Les Adieux")
Les adieux: Adagio
L'absence: Andante espressivo Le retour: Vivacissimamento
Sonata in F minor, Op. 57 ("Appassionata")
Allegro assai Andante con moto Allegro ma non troppo
INTERMISSION
Sonata in C minor, Op. Ill
Maestoso: Allegro con brio ed appassionato Arietta: Adagio molto semplice e cantabile
Steinway Piano A R S L O N G A VITA B R E V I S
1964 UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY PRESENTATIONS 1965
Remaining Concerts in Summer Concert Series
Rackham Auditorium
Eugene Istomin Ralph Votapek
Monday, July 20 Wednesday, July 29
Choral Union Series
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.....
Antonio and the Ballets de Madrid .
Warsaw Philharmonic.......
Leonid Kogan, Violinist.....
Raduga Dancers .......
Faust (Gounod) New York City Opera Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra .
Rosalyn Tureck, Pianist......
Robert Merrill, Baritone .... National Ballet of Canada ....
Friday, September 25 Thursday, October 8 Wednesday, October 14 Wednesday, November 4 Saturday, November 14 Sunday, November 22 Monday, February 8 Monday, March 1 Friday, March 12 Saturday, April 3
Extra Series
London Symphony Orchestra......Friday, October 2
Irina Arkhipova, Mezzo-soprano.....Monday, November 9
Merry Widow (Lehar) New York City Opera (2:30) Sunday, November 22
Berlin Philharmonic.......Saturday, January 30
Polish Mime Theater........Tuesday, February 23
Chamber Arts Series
societa corelli New York Chamber Soloists Andres Segovia, Guitarist Paris Chamber Orchestra Netherlands Chamber Choir Chicago Little Symphony Solisti di Zagreb
Wednesday, October 28
Tuesday, November 17
Wednesday, January 20
Sunday, February 14
Saturday, February 27
Sunday, March 7
Tuesday, March 30
Annual Christmas Concerts
Messiah (Handel) (Two performances) . . . Saturday, December
(2:30) Sunday, December
Festivals
Chamber Dance Festival
Paul Taylor Dance Company
Jean Leon Destine Dancers
First Chamber Dance Quartet . Chamber Music Festival (five concerts)
Budapest String Quartet . Ann Arbor May Festival, 1965 (six concerts)
Friday, October 23 Saturday, October 24 (2:30) Sunday, October 25
February 17, 18, 19, 20,21 May 6, 7, 8, 9
The Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy, Musical Director; guest conductor and soloists.
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF