Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 6, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 6, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 6, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
6
Month
May
Year
1966
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-Seventh
Concert: Second
Complete Series: 3514
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

196S Eighty-Seventh Season 1966
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Second Concert Complete Series 3514
Seventy-third Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA THE UNIVERSITY CHORAL UNION
THOR JOHNSON, Conductor EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOISTS
JENNIFER VYVYAN, Soprano LILI CHOOKASIAN, Contralto WALDIE ANDERSON, Tenor SHERRILL MILNES, Baritone
GYORGY SANDOR, Pianist
Friday Evening, May 6, 1966, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Concerto for Orchestra..........Kodaly
Allegro risoluto Largo
Allegro risoluto Largo
Allegro risoluto
Thor Johnson, Conductor
Te Deum.............Kodaly
University Choral Union, Jennifer Vyvyan, Lili Chookasian,
Waldie Anderson and Sherrill Milnes
Mary McCall Stubbins at the Organ
Thor Johnson, Conductor
INTERMISSION
Concerto No. 1 for Piano and Orchestra.....Bartok
Allegro moderato Andante
Allegro molto
Gyorgy Sandor Eugene Ormandy, Conductor
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1966-1967
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES-1966
Alfred Brendel, Pianist.......Wednesday, July 6
Peter Serkin, Pianist........Thursday, July 14
Evelyne Crochet, Pianist.......Wednesday, July 20
Grant Johannesen, Pianist.......Monday, July 25
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra ....
Guiomar Novaes, Pianist.......
Toronto Symphony Orchestra.....
American Ballet Theatre......
"The Consul" (Menotti) N.Y. City Opera Detroit Symphony Orchestra . Winnipeg Ballet Company .... Shirley Verrett, Mezzo-soprano . Stockholm University Chorus Boston Symphony Orchestra
Saturday, October 8
Wednesday, October 12
Thursday, November 3
Thursday, November 17
(8:00) Sunday, November 20
(2:30) Sunday, January 8
Saturday, February 4
Monday, March 13
Thursday, April 6
Saturday, April 8
EXTRA SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra .
Emil Gilels, Pianist......
"Tosca" (Puccini) N.Y. City Opera Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra . Jose Greco and Spanish Dance Company .
(2:30) Sunday, October 9
Tuesday, November 8
(2:30) Sunday, November 20
(2:30) Sunday, February 26
Wednesday, March 8
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia
Moscow Chamber Orchestra.....
Christian Ferras, Violinist......
Andres Segovia, Guitarist......
Music from Marlboro.......
Jacqueline Du Pre, Cellist;
Stephen Bishop, Pianist.....
Boston Symphony Chamber Players
Saturday, September 24
Saturday, October 22
Monday, November 14
Monday, January 9
Monday, January 30
Monday, March 20 (2:30) Sunday, April 9
ANNUAL CHRISTMAS CONCERTS
"Messiah" (Handel)--Three Performances . . December 2, 3, (2:30) 4
FESTIVALS
Chamber Dance Festival.....
Chamber Music Festival
Borodin Quartet (from Moscow) Stockholm Kyndel String Quartet;
Per-Olof Johnson, Guitarist Trio Italiano D'Archi
Ann Arbor May Festival (Five concerts)
Three events in October Friday, February 17
Saturday, February 18
(2:30) Sunday, February 19
. . April 22, 23, 24, 25
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Download PDF