Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
7
Month
May
Year
1966
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-Seventh
Concert: Third
Complete Series: 3515
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1965 Eighty-Seventh Season 1966
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail VV. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Third Concert Complete Series 3515
Seventy-third Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA WILLIAM SMITH, Conductor
SOLOIST
JOSEPH de PASQUALE, Violist
Saturday Afternoon, May 7, 1966, at 2:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Suite, "Lieutenant Kije", Op. 60.......Prokofiev
The Birth of Kij6
Romance
Kije's Wedding
Troika
The Burial of Kije
Concerto in B minor, for Viola and Orchestra
(arranged by Henri Casadesus)......Handel
Allegro moderato
Andante ma non troppo Allegro molto
Joseph de Pasquale intermission
?Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64.....Tchaikovsky
Andante; allegro con anima
Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza Valse: allegro moderato
Finale: andante maestoso
Columbia Records
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1966-1967
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
REMAINING RECITALS IN SUMMER CONCERT SERIES
Rackham Auditorium
Peter Serkin, Pianist..........Thursday, July 14
Evelyne Crochet, Pianist.........Wednesday, July 20
Grant Johannesen, Pianist.........Monday, July 25
Tickets: $4.00 --$3.00 --$2.00
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.......Saturday, October 8
Guiomar Novaes, Pianist........Wednesday, October 12
Toronto Symphony Orchestra......Thursday, November 3
American Ballet Theatre........Thursday, November 17
"The Consul" (Menotti) N.Y. City Opera . . (8:00) Sunday, November 20
Detroit Symphony Orchestra......(2:30) Sunday, January 8
Winnipeg Ballet Company........Saturday, February 4
Shirley Verrett, Mezzo-soprano.......Monday, March 13
Stockholm University Chorus.......Thursday, April 6
Boston Symphony Orchestra........Saturday, April 8
Season Tickets: $25.00 -$20.00 -$17.00 -$14.00 -$12.00
EXTRA SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra......(2:30) Sunday, October 9
Emil Gilels, Pianist.........Tuesday, November 8
"Tosca" (Puccini) N.Y. City Opera .... (2:30) Sunday, November 20
Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, February 26
Jose Greco and Spanish Dance Company .... Wednesday, March 8
Season Tickets: $12.50 -$10.00 -$8.50 -$7.00 -$6.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia .... Saturday, September 24
?Moscow Chamber Orchestra.......Saturday, October 22
Christian Ferras, Violinist........Monday, November 14
Music from Marlboro.........Monday, January 30
?Andres Segovia, Guitarist........Tuesday, February 28
Jacqueline Du Pre, Cellist; Stephen Bishop, Pianist . . Monday, March 20
Boston Symphony Chamber Players .... (2:30) Sunday, April 9
Season Tickets: $18.00(out) --$15.00 --$12.00
A second concert scheduled: Sunday, October 23 (Moscow) ; and Wednesday, March 1 (Segovia).
TICKETS FOR SINGLE PERFORMANCES IN THE ABOVE 3 SERIES: Advance orders will be filled in sequence beginning September 1 from remaining tickets. Counter sale begins September 10.
Brochures, with complete list of presentations for next season, will be available about August 1.
For tickets and information, address THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF