Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 7, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
7
Month
May
Year
1966
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-Seventh
Concert: Fourth
Complete Series: 3516
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1965 Eighty-Seventh Season 1966
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Fourth Concert Complete Series 3S16
Seventy-third Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
Saturday Evening, May 7, 1966, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
?Toccata and Fugue in D minor........Bach
(Transcribed for Orchestra by Eugene Ormandy)
?Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67.....Beethoven
Allegro con brio
Andante con moto Allegro
Allegro; presto
INTERMISSION
''Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73......Brahms
Allegro non troppo Adagio non troppo
Allegretto grazioso, quasi andantino Allegro con spirito
Columbia Records
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1966-1967
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES-1966
Alfred Brendel, Pianist.......Wednesday, July 6
Peter Serkin, Pianist........Thursday, July 14
Evelyne Crochet, Pianist.......Wednesday, July 20
Grant Johannesen, Pianist.......Monday, July 25
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.....Saturday, October 8
Guiomar Novaes, Pianist.......Wednesday, October 12
Toronto Symphony Orchestra.....Thursday, November 3
American Ballet Theatre......Thursday, November 17
"The Consul" (Menotti) N.Y. City Opera . (8:00) Sunday, November 20
Detroit Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, January 8
Winnipeg Ballet Company......Saturday, February 4
Shirley Verrett, Mezzo-soprano......Monday, March 13
Stockholm University Chorus......Thursday, April 6
Boston Symphony Orchestra......Saturday, April 8
EXTRA SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, October 9
Emil Gilels, Pianist........Tuesday, November 8
"Tosca" (Puccini) N.Y. City Opera . . (2:30) Sunday, November 20 Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra . . (2:30) Sunday, February 26 Jose Greco and Spanish Dance Company . . Wednesday, March 8
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia . . . Saturday, September 24
Moscow Chamber Orchestra......Saturday, October 22
Christian Ferras, Violinist......Monday, November 14
Andres Segovia, Guitarist.......Monday, January 9
Music from Marlboro........Monday, January 30
Jacqueline Du Pre, Cellist;
Stephen Bishop, Pianist......Monday, March 20
Boston Symphony Chamber Players . . . (2:30) Sunday, April 9
ANNUAL CHRISTMAS CONCERTS
"Messiah" (Handel)--Three Performances . . December 2, 3, (2:30) 4
FESTIVALS
Chamber Dance Festival.......Three events in October
Chamber Music Festival
Borodin Quartet (from Moscow) .... Friday, February 17
Stockholm Kyndel String Quartet;
Per-Olof Johnson, Guitarist . . . Saturday, February 18
Trio Italiano D'Archi .... (2:30) Sunday, February 19 Ann Arbor May Festival (Five concerts) .... April 22, 23, 24, 25
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Download PDF