Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 8, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 8, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 8, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
8
Month
May
Year
1966
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-Seventh
Concert: Fifth
Complete Series: 3517
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1965 Eighty-Seventh Season 1966
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Fifth Concert Complete Series 3517
Seventy-third Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA THE UNIVERSITY CHORAL UNION
SOLOISTS
JENNIFER VYVYAN, Soprano
SHERRILL MILNES, Baritone
JOHN BOGART, Boy Alto
GARY GRAFFMAN, Pianist
Claudio Arrau, originally scheduled for this concert, was obliged to cancel his appearance here, due to illness.
Sunday Afternoon, May 8, 1966, at 2:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Chichester Psalms, for Boy Solo and Chorus .... Bernstein University Choral Union and John Bogart
Requiem, for Soprano and Baritone Solo,
Double Chorus, and Orchestra.......Delius
University Choral Union, Jennifer Vyvyan and sherrill mllnes
intermission
Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26,
for Piano and Orchestra .......Prokofiev
Andante; allegro
Theme and variations
Allegro ma non troppo
Gary Graffman
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1966-1967
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated. SUMMER CONCERT SERIES-1966
Alfred Brendel, Pianist Peter Serkin, Pianist Evelyne Crochet, Pianist Grant Johannesen, Pianist
Wednesday, July 6
Thursday, July 14
Wednesday, July 20
Monday, July 25
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Guiomar Novaes, Pianist......
Toronto Symphony Orchestra ....
American Ballet Theatre.....
"The Consul" (Menotti) N.Y. City Opera . Detroit Symphony Orchestra . . . . Winnipeg Ballet Company .... Shirley Verrett, Mezzo-soprano . Stockholm University Chorus ... Boston Symphony Orchestra
EXTRA SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra . . . .
Emil Gilels, Pianist......
"Tosca" (Puccini) N.Y. City Opera Minneapolis Symphony Okchestra . Jose Greco and Spanish Dance Company .
Saturday, October 8
Wednesday, October 12
Thursday, November 3
Thursday, November 17
(8:00) Sunday, November 20
(2:30) Sunday, January 8
Saturday, February 4
Monday, March 13
Thursday, April 6
Saturday, April 8
(2:30) Sunday, October 9
Tuesday, November 8
(2:30) Sunday, November 20
(2:30) Sunday, February 26
Wednesday, March 8
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia . . . Saturday, September 24
Moscow Chamber Orchestra......Saturday, October 22
Christian Ferras, Violinist......Monday, November 14
Andres Segovia, Guitarist.......Monday, January 9
Music from Marlboro........Monday, January 30
Jacqueline Du Pre, Cellist ;
Stephen Bishop, Pianist......Monday, March 20
Boston Symphony Chamber Players . . . (2:30) Sunday, April 9
ANNUAL CHRISTMAS CONCERTS
"Messiah" (Handel)--Three Performances . . December 2, 3, (2:30) 4
FESTIVALS
Chamber Dance Festival.....
Chamber Music Festival
Borodin Quartet (from Moscow) Stockholm Kyndel String Quartet;
Per-Olof Johnson, Guitarist Trio Italiano D'Akchi
Ann Arbor May Festival (Five concerts)
Three events in October Friday, February 17
Saturday, February 18
(2:30) Sunday, February 19
. . April 22, 23, 24, 25
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Download PDF