Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 8, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 8, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 8, 1966: Seventy-third Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
8
Month
May
Year
1966
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-Seventh
Concert: Sixth
Complete Series: 3518
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1965 Eighty-Seventh Season 1966
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Sixth Concert Complete Series 3518
Seventy-third Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA
THE UNIVERSITY CHORAL UNION
EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOISTS
JANICE HARSANYI, Soprano
LILI CHOOKASIAN, Contralto
STANLEY KOLK, Tenor
YI-KWEI SZE, Bass
Sunday Evening, May 8, 1966, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
"Music for a Great City".........Copland
Skyline
Night Thoughts Subway Jam Toward the Bridge
INTERMISSION
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 ("Choral") . . Beethoven
Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso Molto vivace; presto
Adagio molto e cantabile; andante moderato Allegro assai
University Choral Union and Soloists
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1966-1967
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES-!966
Alfred Brendel, Pianist.......Wednesday, July 6
Peter Serkin, Pianist........Thursday, July 14
Evelyne Crochet, Pianist.......Wednesday, July 20
Grant Johannesen, Pianist.......Monday, July 25
CHORAL UNION
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Guiomar Novaes, Pianist.....
Toronto Symphony Orchestra . American Ballet Theatre .... "The Consul" (Menotti) N.Y. City Opera Detroit Symphony Orchestra . Winnipeg Ballet Company .... Shirley Verrett, Mezzo-soprano . Stockholm University Chorus . Boston Symphony Orchestra
EXTRA SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra . . . .
Emil Gilels, Pianist......
"Tosca" (Puccini) N.Y. City Opera . . Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra . Jose Greco and Spanish Dance Company .
SERIES
Saturday, October 8
Wednesday, October 12
Thursday, November 3
Thursday, November 17
(8:00) Sunday, November 20
(2:30) Sunday, January 8
Saturday, February 4
Monday, March 13
Thursday, April 6
Saturday, April 8
(2:30) Sunday, October 9
Tuesday, November 8
(2:30) Sunday, November 20
(2:30) Sunday, February 26
Wednesday, March 8
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia
Moscow Chamber Orchestra.....
Christian Ferras, Violinist......
Andres Segovia, Guitarist......
Music from Marlboro.......
Jacqueline Du Pre, Cellist;
Stephen Bishop, Pianist.....
Boston Symphony Chamber Players
Saturday, September 24
Saturday, October 22
Monday, November 14
Monday, January 9
Monday, January 30
Monday, March 20 (2:30) Sunday, April 9
ANNUAL CHRISTMAS CONCERTS
"Messiah" (Handel)--Three Performances . . December 2, 3, (2:30) 4
FESTIVALS
Chamber Dance Festival.....
Chamber Music Festival
Borodin Quartet (from Moscow) Stockholm Kyndel String Quartet;
Per-Olof Johnson, Guitarist Trio Italiano D'Archi
Ann Arbor May Festival (Five concerts)
Three events in October Friday, February 17
Saturday, February 18
(2:30) Sunday, February 19
. . April 22, 23, 24, 25
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Download PDF