Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 6, 1966: Alfred Brendel --

UMS Concert Program, July 6, 1966: Alfred Brendel --  image UMS Concert Program, July 6, 1966: Alfred Brendel --  image
Day
6
Month
July
Year
1966
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-eighth
Concert: First
Complete Series: 3519
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1966 Eighty-eighth Season 1967
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail VV. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
First Concert
Third Annual Summer Concert Series
Complete Series 3519
ALFRED BRENDEL
Pianist
Wednesday Evening, July 6, 1966, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Variations on a Menuet by Duport, K. 573 .
Sonata in A minor, K. 310.....
Allegro maestoso
Andante cantabile con espressione Presto
Symphonic Studies, Op. 13.....
Mozart Mozart
Schumann
INTERMISSION
Hungarian Rhapsody, No. 3 Bagatelle Without Tonality Pensees des morts .
Toccata.............
Prelude; fantasia; ciaccona
(1966 is the 100th anniversary of Busoni's birthday.)
Liszt Liszt Liszt
Busoni
Vox and Vanguard Records
Steinway Piano
A R S
L O N G A
VITA
B R E V I S
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1966-1967
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
REMAINING RECITALS IN SUMMER CONCERT SERIES
Rackham Auditorium
Peter Serkin, Pianist..........Thursday, July 14
Evelyne Crochet, Pianist.........Wednesday, July 20
Grant Johannesen, Pianist.........Monday, July 25
Tickets: $4.00 --$3.00 --$2.00
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.......Saturday, October 8
Guiomar Novaes, Pianist........Wednesday, October 12
Toronto Symphony Orchestra......Thursday, November 3
American Ballet Theatre........Thursday, November 17
"The Consul" (Menotti) N.Y. City Opera . . (8:00) Sunday, November 20
Detroit Symphony Orchestra......(2:30) Sunday, January 8
Winnipeg Ballet Company........Saturday, February 4
Shirley Verrett, Mezzo-soprano.......Monday, March 13
Stockholm University Chorus.......Thursday, April 6
Boston Symphony Orchestra........Saturday, April 8
Season Tickets: $25.00 -$20.00 -$17.00 -$14.00 -$12.00
EXTRA SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra......(2:30) Sunday, October 9
Emil Gilels, Pianist.........Tuesday, November 8
"Tosca" (Puccini) N.Y. City Opera .... (2:30) Sunday, November 20
Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, February 26
Jose Greco and Spanish Dance Company .... Wednesday, March 8
Season Tickets: $12.50 -$10.00 -$8.50 -$7.00 -$6.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia .... Saturday, September 24
?Moscow Chamber Orchestra.......Saturday, October 22
Christian Ferras, Violinist........Monday, November 14
Music from Marlboro.........Monday, January 30
?Andres Segovia, Guitarist........Tuesday, February 28
Jacqueline Du Pre, Cellist; Stephen Bishop, Pianist . . Monday, March 20
Boston Symphony Chamber Players .... (2:30) Sunday, April 9
Season Tickets: $18.00(out) --$15.00 --$12.00
A second concert scheduled: Sunday, October 23 (Moscow) ; and Wednesday, March 1 (Segovia).
TICKETS FOR SINGLE PERFORMANCES IN THE ABOVE 3 SERIES: Advance orders will be filled in sequence beginning September 1 from remaining tickets. Counter sale begins September 10.
Brochures, with complete list of presentations for next season, will be available about August 1.
For tickets and information, address THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF