Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, April 22, 1967: Seventy-fourth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, April 22, 1967: Seventy-fourth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, April 22, 1967: Seventy-fourth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
22
Month
April
Year
1967
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-Eighth
Concert: First
Complete Series: 3561
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1966 Eighty-Eighth Season 1967
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
First Concert Complete Series 3S61
Seventeenth program in the Sesquicentennial Year of The University of Michigan
Seventy-fourth Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOIST
GALINA VISHNEVSKAYA, Soprano
Saturday Evening, April 22, 1967, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor.......J. S. Bach
(Transcribed for orchestra by Eugene Ormandy)
Letter Scene from Eugene Onegin......Tchaikovsky
Galina Vishnevskaya
intekmission
"Ritorna vincitor" from A'ida.........Verdi
"Sola, perduta, abbandonata" from Manon Lescaut . . . Puccini
Mme Vishnevskaya
?Concerto for Orchestra..........Baktok
Introduzione (andante non troppo; allegro vivace) Giuoco delle coppie (allegretto scherzando) Elegia (andante, non troppo)
Intermezzo interrotto (allegretto) Finale (presto)
Columbia Records
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1967-1968
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES-! 967
Malcolm Frager, Pianist.........Friday, July 7
Monique Haas, Pianist.........Monday, July 10
Michel Block, Pianist.........Monday, July 24
Grant Johannesen, Pianist, and
Zara Nelsova, Cellist........Monday, July 31
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, October 1 French National Orchestra, with
Eugene Istomin, Pianist.......Monday, October 9
Vienna Symphony.........Thursday, October 19
"Carmina Burana"--opera by Carl Orff . . (8:00) Sunday, October 29
Expo '67 Production with Les Ballets Canadiens
Christa Ludwig, Mezzo-soprano.....Tuesday, October 31
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of London . Wednesday, January 17
Nathan Milstein, Violinist.......Monday, January 29
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra .... Saturday, February 24
Van Cliburn, Pianist..........Friday, March IS
Toronto Symphony Orchestra......Thursday, March 28
EXTRA SERIES
"Land of Smiles"--operetta by Franz
Lehar...........Monday, September 25
(Original Viennese production starring Giuseppe di Stefano)
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.....Saturday, September 30
Yomturi Japanese Orchestra......Friday, November 10
National Ballet from Washington, D. C. . . Wednesday, January 24
Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.....Friday, March 8
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia .... Saturday, October 21
Berlin Philharmonic Octet......Sunday, November 5
Berliner Camerata Musicale.....Monday, November 13
Chicago Little Symphony.......Saturday, January 20
Music from Marlboro (vocal and
instrumental).......(2:30) Sunday, February 4
Munich Chamber Orchestra.....Thursday, February 29
San Pietro Orchestra of Naples......Friday, March 22
ANNUAL CHRISTMAS CONCERTS
"Messiah" (Handel)--Three performances . . December 1, 2, (2:30) 3
FESTIVALS
Fair Lane Festival (on the Dearborn campus) .... June and July
Dance Festival...........October 13, 22, 27
Chamber Music Festival........February 16, 17, 18
Ann Arbor May Festival (5 concerts) .... April 20, 21, 22, 23
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Download PDF