Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 31, 1967: Grant Johannesen --

UMS Concert Program, July 31, 1967: Grant Johannesen --  image UMS Concert Program, July 31, 1967: Grant Johannesen --  image
Day
31
Month
July
Year
1967
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-ninth
Concert: Fourth
Complete Series: 3580
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1967 Eighty-ninth Season 1968
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Fourth Concert Fourth Annual Summer Concert Series Complete Series 3S80
Thirty-fifth program in the Sesquicentennial Year of The University of Michigan
ZARA NELSOVA
Cellist
GRANT JOHANNESEN
Pianist In Joint Recital
Monday Evening, July 31, 1967, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Sonata in D major, Op. 102, No. 2.....Beethoven
Allegro con brio
Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto Allegro; allegro fugato
Sonata (1948)...........Poulenc
Allegro; tempo di marcia Cavatine (tres calme)
B alia bile (tres anime et gai)
Finale (largo; presto subito; largo)
INTERMISSION
Sonata in G minor, Op. 19......Rachmaninoff
Lento; allegro moderato Allegro scherzando Andante
Allegro mosso
Steinway Piano
Miss Nelsova records for London ffrr Records Mr. Johannesen records for HMV, Capitol, Golden Crest, and Vox Records
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1967-1968
CHORAL UNION SERIES HILL AUDITORIUM
Chicago Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, October 1 French National Orchestra, with
Eugene Istomin, Pianist.......Monday, October 9
Vienna Symphony..........Thursday, October 19
"Carmina Burana"--opera by Carl Orff . . (8:00) Sunday, October 29
Expo '67 Production with Les Ballets Canadiens
Christa Ludwig, Mezzo-soprano.....Tuesday, October 31
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of London . Wednesday, January 17
Nathan Milstein, Violinist.......Monday, January 29
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra .... Saturday, February 24
Van Cliburn, Pianist..........Friday, March IS
Toronto Symphony Orchestra......Thursday, March 28
Season Tickets: $30.00--$25.00--$20.00--$15.00--$12.00
EXTRA SERIES-HILL AUDITORIUM
"Land of Smiles"--operetta by Franz Lehar . . Monday, September 25 (Original Viennese production starring Giuseppe di Stefano)
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.....Saturday, September 30
Yomiuri Japanese Orchestra......Friday, November 10
National Ballet from Washington, D. C. . . Wednesday, January 24 Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.....Friday, March 8
Season Tickets: $15.00--$12.50--$10.00--$7.50--$6.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES RACKHAM AUDITORIUM
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia .... Saturday, October 21
Berlin Philharmonic Octet......Sunday, November S
Berliner Camerata Musicale.....Monday, November 13
Chicago Little Symphony.......Saturday, January 20
Music from Marlboro (vocal and
instrumental).......(2:30) Sunday, February 4
Munich Chamber Orchestra.....Thursday, February 29
San Ptetro Orchestra of Naples......Friday, March 22
Season Tickets: $20.00--$15.00--$10.00
DANCE FESTIVAL HILL AUDITORIUM
Harkness Ballet..........Friday, October 13
Oleata Basque Festival (from Bilbao) . . (2:30) Sunday, October 22 Jose Molina Bailes Espanoles.......Friday, October 27
Season Tickets: $8.00--$6.00--$5.00 Single Performances: $4.00--$3.00--$2.00
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
TICKETS FOR SINGLE PERFORMANCES IN THE ABOVE 3 SERIES: Advance orders will be filled in sequence beginning September 1 from remaining tickets. Counter sale begins September 11.
Brochures with complete list of presentations for next season, will be available about August 20.
For tickets and information, address THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF