Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, March 15, 1968: Van Cliburn --

UMS Concert Program, March 15, 1968: Van Cliburn --  image UMS Concert Program, March 15, 1968: Van Cliburn --  image
Day
15
Month
March
Year
1968
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-ninth
Concert: Ninth
Complete Series: 3611
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1967 Eighty-ninth Season 1968
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Ninth Concert Eighty-ninth Annual Choral Union Series Complete Series 3611
VAN CLIBURN
Pianist
Friday Evening, March 15, 1968, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Two Rhapsodies, Op. 79.........Brahms
B minor G minor
Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 31, No. 3.....Beethoven
Allegro
Scherzo: allegretto vivace Menuetto: moderato e grazioso Presto con fuoco
Sonata, Op. 26............Barber
Allegro energico
Allegro vivace e leggiere Adagio mesto
Fuga: allegro cospirato
INTERMISSION
Three Etudes............Chopin
Nocturne in E major, Op. 62, No. 2......Chopin
Scherzo in B-flat minor, Op. 31........Chopin
The Steinway piano is the official piano of The University Musical Society
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1968-69
CHORAL UNION SERIES
In Hill Auditorium
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Istvan Kertesz, Conductor Gary Graffman, Pianist Bavarian Orchestra of Munich .
Rafael Kubelik, Conductor Birgit Nilsson, Soprano Yehudi Menuhin, Violinist, and
Hephzibah Menuhin, Pianist Gregg Smith Singers .... Hague Philharmonic ....
Wiixem Van Otterloo, Conductor "Carmen" (Goldovsky Opera Company) Rudolf Serkin, Pianist .... Moscow State Symphony .
Evgeni Svetlanov, Conductor
Saturday, October 5
Monday, October 14 Saturday, October 26
Thursday, November 14
(2:30) Sunday, November 24
(2:30) Sunday, January 12
Friday, January 24
(8:00) Saturday, February IS
Wednesday, March 5
Thursday, March 13
Season Tickets: 30.00--$25.00--$20.00--$15.00--$12.00
DANCE SERIES
In Hill Auditorium
National Ballet (from Washington, D.C.) Moldavian Dance Company (from U.S.S.R.) Mazowsze Dance Company (from Poland) Alvin Ailey American Dance Theatre . Ballet Folklorico of Mexico
Friday, October 11 Wednesday, October 16 Monday, November 18 Saturday, February 8 Wednesday, February 26
Sunday, October 20
Thursday, November 7
Sunday, January 5
Saturday, February 1
Monday, February 10
Saturday, February 22
Sunday, March 23
Season Tickets: $15.00--$12.50--$10.00--$7.50--$6.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
In Rackham Auditorium
Madrigalisti di Venezia......
Melos Ensemble, from London .... Janet Baker, English Mezzo-Soprano
Music from Marlboro......
Israel Chamber Orchestra.....
Cologne Chamber Orchestra.....
Orchestra Michelangelo di Firenze
Season Tickets: $20.00--$15.00--$10.00 Programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated. Orders accepted beginning Monday.
ANN ARBOR MAY FESTIVAL-April 20, 21, 22, 23, 1968 (5 Concerts)
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA AT ALL CONCERTS
Eugene Okmandy, Conductor; Thor Johnson, Guest Conductor; Anthony di Bonaventura, Pianist (Bartok Concerto No. 2) ; Claude Frank, Pianist (Mozart Concerto K. 456) ; Eileen Farrell, and Judith Raskin, Sopranos; Jean Sanders, Contralto; Leopold Simoneau, Tenor; Theodor Uppman, Baritone; University Choral Union Tickets: $6.00--$5.50--$5.00--$4.00--$3.00--$2.00
1968 SUMMER CONCERT SERIES--four piano recitals in Rackham Auditorium--to be announced soon.
THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104
(Hours: Mon.-Fri., 9 to 4:30; Sat., 9 to 12 a.m.) Telephone: 665-3717

Download PDF