Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 28, 1969: Gyorgy Sandor --

UMS Concert Program, July 28, 1969: Gyorgy Sandor --  image UMS Concert Program, July 28, 1969: Gyorgy Sandor --  image
Day
28
Month
July
Year
1969
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Fourth
Complete Series: 3658
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The University Musical Society
The University of Michigan
Presents
GYORGY SANDOR
Pianist
Monday Evening, July 28, 1969, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Sonata in G minor!
Sonata in C major I............Scarlatti
Sonata in C majorj
Sonata in G major, K. 283...........Mozart
Allegro
Andante Vivace
Sonata No. 7..............Prokofieff
Allegro inquiete Caloroso
Precipitato
INTERMISSION
Dance Suite (1923).............Bartok
Moderato; Ritornell; Allegro molto; Ritornell; Allegro vivace; Molto tranquille; Ritornell; Comodo; Finale
(First performance in Ann Arbor)
Etude in Bflat minor...........Szymanowski
Etude in F major............Mendelssohn
Etude in Dsharp minor............Scriabin
Mephisto Waltz...............Liszt
Steinway Piano Columbia Masterworks; Turnabout; Candide; and Vox Records.
Mr. Sandor gave the world premiere of the Dance Suite at Carnegie Hall, New York, in the presence of the composer, in March 1945. The version of the Suite as performed tonight was specially revised by Bartok for Mr. Sandor.
Fourth Concert Sixth Annual Summer Concert Series Complete Programs 3658
1969 -INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS -197 0
Choral Union Series
Hill Auditorium
NEW YORK PHILHARMONIC.....2:30, Sunday, September 21
Seiji Ozawa, Conducting
Andre Watts, Pianist (Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3)
MISHA DICHTER, Pianist........Monday, October 6
ORCHESTRA OF L'ACCADEMIA
DI SANTA CECILIA, Rome......Thursday, October 23
Fernando Previtali, Conducting
ROYAL CHORAL SOCIETY AND PLAYERS . . Tuesday, November 4 OSIPOV BALALAIKA ORCHESTRA (with stars of the
Bolshoi Opera and Russian Dancers) . . . Thursday, November 13
NHK SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA, JAPAN . . . Tuesday, November 25
Hiroyuki Iwaki, Conducting JOAN SUTHERLAND, Soprano, with
RICHARD BONYNGE, Pianist.....Friday, January 30
VLADIMIR ASHKENAZY, Pianist......Monday, February 9
"BARBER OF SEVILLE" (Rossini)--
Canadan Opera Company......Saturday, February 14
ANDRES SEGOVIA, Classical Guitarist .... Thursday, February 19 Season Tickets: $35.00--$30.00--$25.00--$20.00--$15.00
Dance Series
Hill Auditorium
NATIONAL BALLET OF CANADA.....Friday, October 17
JOSE LIMON DANCE COMPANY.....Saturday, November 1
?NIKOLAIS DANCE COMPANY.....Wednesday, January 21
DANZAS VENEZUELA........Tuesday, February 17
ROYAL WINNIPEG BALLET......2:30, Sunday, March 15
For these two modern Dance Companies, Lecturedemonstrations will be scheduled and announced at a later date. Season ticket subscribers to the Dance Series will receive complimentary admission.
Season Tickets: $17.50--$15.00--$12.50--$10.00
Chamber Art Series
Rackham Auditorium
MADRIGAL, from Bucharest........Sunday, October 12
Marin Constantin, Conductor
PRAGUE CHAMBER ORCHESTRA.....Monday, November 10
FRANCO GULLI, Violinist, and
ENRICA CAVALLO, Pianist (duo from Italy) . Monday, November 17
NEW YORK PRO MUSICA.......Monday, January 12
MUSIC FROM MARLBORO.......Wednesday, January 28
JEANPIERRE RAMPAL, Flute, and
ROBERT VEYRONLACROIX, Keyboard . . Thursday, February 5
PHAKAVALI DANCERS, from Bangkok.....Monday, March 2
Season Tickets: $25.00--$20.00--$12.00
Orders for single performances (all 3 series) will be accepted beginning August 15. Counter sale begins September 10.
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Gail W. Rector, President,
Roscoe O. Bonisteel, VicePresident
Erich A. Walter, Secretary
E. Thurston Thieme, Treasurer
Douglas D. Crary Robben VV. Fleming Harlan Hatcher Paul G. Kauper
Wilbur K. Pierpont Daniel H. Schurz Stephen H. Spurr

Download PDF