Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, October 4, 1973: Ballet Repertory Company Of The American Ballet Theatre -- Richard Englund

UMS Concert Program, October 4, 1973: Ballet Repertory Company Of The American Ballet Theatre -- Richard Englund image UMS Concert Program, October 4, 1973: Ballet Repertory Company Of The American Ballet Theatre -- Richard Englund image UMS Concert Program, October 4, 1973: Ballet Repertory Company Of The American Ballet Theatre -- Richard Englund image UMS Concert Program, October 4, 1973: Ballet Repertory Company Of The American Ballet Theatre -- Richard Englund image
Day
4
Month
October
Year
1973
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: First
Complete Series: 3832
Power Center For The Performing Arts, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The University Musical Society
of
The University of Michigan
Presents
Ballet Repertory Company
of the AMERICAN BALLET THEATRE
RICHARD ENGLUND, Director
Lynne Charles Laura Crain Miguel Garcia
Enrico Labayan Linda Marx Michael Owen
Leigh Provancha Fanchon Cordell Ellen English
Aurea Hammerli Jan Lathrop Pamela Mitchell Gernot Petzold Stephen Rockford Raymond Serrano
Thursday Evening, October 4, 1973, at 8:00
Power Center for the Performing Arts
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Program JIGS 'n REELS
Music............Malcolm Arnold
Choreography..........Richard Englund
Costumes............Eric Richter
Yellow Clan: Linda Marx, Stephen Rockford
Aurea Hammerli, Pamela Mitchell
Red Clan: Jan Lathrop, Gernot Petzold Raymond Serrano
Blue Clan: Leigh Provancha, Michael Owen Fanchon Cordell, Ellen English
INTERMISSION
IMPRESSIONS
MUSIC...........GUNTHER SCHULLER
Choreography...........Job Sanders
Costumes............Joop Stokvis
Both the composer and the choreographer have used the various paintings of Paul Klee as points of departure for each of the seven studies. Some relate to the actual design, shape, or color of the paintings, while others take the general mood of the picture or its title as inspiration.
Bird Drama -Abstract Trio -Arab Song Twittering Machine -The Eerie Moment
Theatre oj the Exotics Dying Plants and Grieving Child
Laura Crain Jan Lathrop Linda Marx Pamela Mitchell Enrico Labayan Gernot Petzold
(Staging of IMPRESSIONS made possible by a grant from the New York State Council on the Arts)
(pause)
DON QUIXOTE--Pas de Deux
Music.............Leon Minkus
Choreography...........Marius Petipa
(Staged by Leon Danielian)
Costumes............Eric Richter
Lynne Charles and Miguel Garcia
INTERMISSION
NAPOLI--Divertissement
Music.........Helsted, Lumbye, Paulli
Choreography.........Auguste Bournonville
(Staged by Toni Lander)
Decor and Costumes..........Eric Richter
Excerpts from the last act of one of the oldest and most popular of Romantic ballets. The festivities are in celebration of the betrothal of Teresina and Gennaro, a young Neapolitan couple.
Tercsina..............Aurea Hammerli
Gcnnaro...............Miguel Garcia
Fanchon Cordell Ellen English Jan Lathrop
Pamela Mitchell Enrico Labayan Gernot Petzold Stephen Rockfqrd Raymond Serrano
In collaboration with the University's Dance Program of the Department of Physical Education, this concert is part of a threeday dance residency project, re?ceiving support from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Michigan Council for the Arts. It is the second of four dance residencies this season under the sponsor?ship of the University Musical Society, continuing with the Ballet West, October 19 and 20, and the Nikolais Dance Theatre, April 18 and 19.
INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS --197374
Choral Union Series Hill Auditorium
Julian Bream, Guitar and Lute.......Sunday, October 21
London Bach Society..........Friday, October 26
Leningrad Philharmonic........Saturday, November 3
Budapest Symphony Orchestra......Saturday, November 10
Martina Arroyo, Soprano........Monday, November 19
Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra......Sunday, January 27
Luciano Pavarotti, Tenor.......Wednesday, February 27
An Evening of Viennese Operetta.......Friday, March 1
Yehudi Menuhin, Violinist, and
Hephzibah Menuhin, Pianist......Wednesday, March 13
Two Added Attractions Kill Auditorium
Leningrad Philharmonic........Sunday, November 4
AllBrubeck Concert.........Thursday, January 17
Choice Series Power Center
Ballet Repertory Company of the American
Ballet Theatre..........Friday, October 5
Bayanihan Philippine Dance Company.....Sunday, October 14
Ballet West, U.S.A......Friday and Saturday, October 19 & 20
Claude Kipnis Mime Theatre.......Saturday, October 2 7
Modern Jazz Quartet........Thursday, November 15
Krasnayarsk Dance Company, Siberia .... Saturday, December 1 Mozart's Impresario and Menotti's Old Maid and the Thief,
Goldovsky Opera Company . . Saturday and Sunday, February 23 & 24
Vienna Choir Boys..........Monday, March 11
Norwegian National Ballet . . . Saturday and Sunday, March 16 & 17
Roumanian Folk Ballet.........Friday, March 29
Nikolais Dance Theatre .... Thursday and Friday, April 18 & 19
Chamber Arts Series Rackham Auditorium
Gyorgy Sandor, Pianist.........Friday, October 12
Slovak Chamber Orchestra........Tuesday, October 23
Baroque Ensemble, USSR........Sunday, October 28
Tel Aviv String Quartet.......Wednesday, November 14
LaSalle String Quartet.........Sunday, January 20
Roumanian Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello).....Friday, February 22
Netherlands Wind Ensemble......Thursday, February 28
Early Music Consort of London......Saturday, April 13
Asian Series Rackham Auditorium
Music from Iran.........Wednesday, October 31
The Little Angels, Korea.......Sunday, November 11
Awaji Puppet Theater of Japan .... . Tuesday, February 19 Kathak, North Indian Dance.......Wednesday, April 3
Guitar Series Rackham Auditorium
Abreu Brothers, Argentina......Wednesday, November 7
Narciso Yepes, Spain........Wednesday, November 28
Carlos BarbosaLima, Brazil,.......Saturday, February 2
Romero Quartet (family of guitarists).....Wednesday, March 20
Single tickets now on sale; limited series still available. Inquire at our Burton Tower office--Phone 6653717
The University Musical Society relies on public support in order to maintain the scope and artistic quality of these programs. Taxdeductible contributions to our Gift Program arc welcome.

Download PDF