Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, April 6, 1978: The Amadeus Quartet --

Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Eighth
Complete Series: 4121
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The University Musical Society
The University of Michigan
The Amadeus Quartet
Thursday Evening, April 6, 1978, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quartet in Bflat major, K. 458 ("Hunting").......Mozart
Allegro vivace assai Menuetto: moderato Adagio
Allegro assai
Quartet No. 2 in C major, Op. 36..........Britten
Allegro colmo senza rigore Vivace
Chacony: sostenuto, molto piu andante, molto piu adagio
Quartet in F major, Op. 96 ("American").......Dvorak
Allegro ma non troppo Lento Molto vivace
Vivace ma non troppo
Deutsche Grammophon, Angel, and Westminster Records.
Watch for announcement next week oj the new 19781979 Chamber Arts Series, part of next season's International Presentations marking the 100th year of the Universily Musical Society.
Eighth Concert Fifteenth Annual Chamber Arts Series Complete Programs 4121
About the Artists
England's internationally famous Amadcus Quartet has become one of America's favorite chamber music ensembles since its United States debut in 1952. Although their home base is in London, only one member of the Quartet, Martin Lovett, is a native Englishman. His colleagues, Norbert Brainin, Sicgmund Nissel, and Peter Schidlof, are Austrianborn and received their early training in Vienna. To escape the oppressive Nazi regime, the families moved to England in 1938. In spite of such parallel events, they did not meet until 1941 when all four boys, employed in various war factories, were pursuing their music studies under Max Rostal. Thus began the association which led to the formation of a permanent quartet, with their first public appearance in 1948. Their success was immediate and after many concerts and broadcasts throughout England, the British Arts Council sponsored their first continental tour. Since then they have performed throughout all of Europe, participated in the major European music festivals, made over a dozen tours of the United States, and appeared in Australia, Russia, Japan, Israel, Scandinavia, and South America. Responding to the public acclaim of the Quartet, Queen Elizabeth II awarded its members the Order of the British Empire in 1960 for services to music, and in 1968 the University of York bestowed honorary Doctorate of Music degrees on the four Quartet members.
Fourth Annual Benefit Concert and Reception
for the University Musical Society and School of Music
Jessye Norman, Soprano
The University Symphony Orchestra
Tomorrow, April 7, at 8:30, in Hill Auditorium
Between leading roles at Deutsche Oper Berlin, La Scala, the Bayreuth Festival, and Covent Garden, and concert appearances throughout Europe and the Americas, this former UM student returns to Ann Arbor to generously donate her artistry for these two musical organizations. Her predecessors in this worthy endeavor have been Mstislav Rostropovich, Yehudi Menuhin, Gyorgy Sandor, and Eugene Ormandy.
Miss Norman performs with the exceptionally fine University Symphony Orchestra, a 100member group designated by Maestro Ormandy as "his junior Philadelphia Orchestra."
Mozart: Overture to The Abduction jrom the Seraglio
Mozart: Concert Aria: "Ch'io mi scordi di te," K. 505
Stravinsky: Firebird Suite
Wagner: Overture to The Flying Dutchman
Wagner: Prelude and LoveDeath from Tristan and Isolde
Concert tickets: Main floor, $8; First Balcony, $7; Second Balcony, $6 and $4; $25 includes a main floor seat and a reception after the concert to meet the artists.
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phones: 6653717, 7642538

Download PDF