Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, January 21, 1979: The Philidor Trio --

Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Fortythird
Complete Series: Sixteenth Annual Chamber
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The Philidor Trio
SHELLEY GRUSKIN, Baroque Flute and Recorders
Sunday Afternoon, January 21, 1979, at 2:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
"Le Charme de la Voix" (Fifth Cantata, Bk. VII) . . . Nicolas Bernier
:. .f (16641734)
Rccitatif '
Air gai: "On m'accuse en vain de tendresse"
Air: "Quand la belle Florize chante"
Air gai: "Sous ces tendres feuillages"
(Soprano, Recorder, Harpsichord)
Suite, Op. 5, No. 3..........Jacques Hotteterre
(c. 16801761)
Prelude Gavotte
Allemande Rondeau
Sarabande Menuets
(Recorder and Harpsichord)
Pieces de Clavecin (Order No. 24)......Francois Couperin
(16681733) Les dars homicides
La divine Babiche, ou les amours badins L'Amphibie (Mouvement deux Passacaille)
Air: "Du dieu des coeurs on adore l'empire".......Bordet
Air: "Un roi qui veut etre heureux" . . . . . JeanPhilippe Rameau
(16831764) (Soprano, Flute, Harpsichord)
Centennial Season -Fortythird Concert
Sixteenth Annual Chamber Arts Scries
Fantasia in D minor........Georg Philipp Telemann
(16811767) (Recorder)
Sonata in E major, Hob. XVI31........Joseph Haydn
(17321809) Moderato; allegretto; presto
Cantata: "Phillis und Thirsis".........C. P. E. Bach
Air: "Thirsis, willst du mir gefallen" Recitativ Air: "Der Vogel rufet oline Ruh"
(Soprano, Flute, Harpsichord)
The Trio: Arcadia Records; Shelley Gruskin: Seon Records.
About the Artists
The gifted musicians of The Philidor Trio are giving their third Ann Arbor concert this afternoon, after previous performances in this auditorium in 1973 and 1974. The Trio takes its name from Anne Danican Philidor (a gentleman, despite his misleading name) who, in 1725. initiated the first series of public concerts in France, the Concerts Spirituels. The Philidor Trio was formed in 1965 by these musicians, then members of the celebrated New York Pro Musica, whose objective was to explore and bring before the public music of "The Splendid Century" for soprano, baroque flute or recorder, and harpsichord. Much of this literature and many of its composers are unfamiliar even to dedicated enthusiasts of baroque music, and the Trio has discovered many beautiful pieces that have lain unperformed for centuries. In addition to works of lesser known composers, they have performed unfamiliar works by such established masters as Couperin, Tele?mann, and Handel. Whenever possible, the music chosen is prepared for performance from original sources (manuscripts or early editions) and the necessary additions, such as embellishments and realization of the figured bass, are supplied by the performers themselves.
Elizabeth Humes, a native of Connecticut, has sung extensively throughout North and South America, Europe, and the Soviet Union as soloist with the New York Pro Musica. In New York, she has sung with the Robert Shaw Chorale, the Riverside Chamber Singers, the Elizabethan Enter?prise, and the New York Cantata Singers.
Shelley Gruskin played with the Rochester Philharmonic for two years, followed by a season with the NBC Opera Orchestra, after which he turned his attention to early music and instruments. He has taught at the New York College of Music, Queens College, the New England Conservatory of Music, and the Hartt College of Music, as well as performing with the New York Pro Musica for twelve years.
Edward Smith studied composition with the late Luigi Dallapiccola under a Fulbright Scholar?ship, and was a student of Ralph Kirkpatrick at Yale University. He was a member of the New York Pro Musica for five years, and has performed with the New York Chamber Players, Bach's Uncle, the Consort of Viols, and the Waverly Consort.
Barbara Nissman, Pianist
Thursday, February 1, at 8:30, in Rackham Auditorium
Schumann: Fantasy, Op. 17 Prokofiev: Sonata No. 1, Op. 1 Chopin: Fantasy, Op. 49 Liszt: Ricordanza; Rhapsodic Espagnole
Subscribers to the four concerts of the "Debut & Encore" Series receive free tickets (upon request) to this recital, made possible through the generosity of the Power Foundation. Tickets are now available to all concertgoers at $4 general admission.
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phones: 6653717, 7642538

Download PDF