Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, March 12, 1979: Los Angeles Ballet -- John Clifford

Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Fiftysixth
Complete Series: Eighth Annual Choice
Power Center For The Performing Arts, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Los Angeles Ballet
JOHN CLIFFORD, Artistic Director
Cynthia Arata, Jennifer Barton, Ellen Bauer, Dianne Brace,
James Perry Brown, John Clifford, Nancy Davis, Diane Dickson,
Diane Diefenderfer, Richard Fritz, Malcolm Grant, Anne Horkigan,
Rodney Jenkins, Johnna Kirkland, James Lane, Peter LewtonBrain,
Jana Malloy, Juliana Mathewson, Kolleen McQuillen, Reid Olson,
David Rodriguez, Dana Shwarts, Georges Vargas
Costumes by Ardeth
Lighting by Joseph Gunches
Music Director: Dr. Clyde Allen
Monday Evening, March 12, 1979, at 8:00
Power Center for the Performing Arts
Ann Arbor, Michigan
The three concerts this week by the Los Angeles Ballet comprise a residency under the Dance Touring Program, with support from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Michigan Council for the Arts.
Centennial Season -Fiftysixth Concert Eighth Annual Choice Series
Music: Johann Sebastian Bach Choreography: George Balanchine
Double Violin Concerto in D minor
Premiere: May 29, 1940
Balanchine choreographed this neoclassic ballet for the American Ballet and it was premiered at Hunter College Theatre. It originally had decor, but is now per?formed without scenery and in practice clothes. "Concerto Barocco" was one of the first ballets revived by the American Ballet under its new name, New York City Ballet, on October 11, 1948, and remains one of the most popular ballets in the repertoire of several companies.
Nancy Davis Juliana Mathewson James Lane
Cynthia Arata, Jennifer Barton, Dianne Brace, Ellen Bauer, Diane Diefenderfer, Anne Horrigan, Jana Malloy, Kolleen McQuillen
Music: Edgar Varese Choreography: John Clifford
Premiere: December 14, 1973
"Poeme Electronique" is really a pas de trois for a man, woman, and electronic tape. The Varese sound is alternately frightening and amusing, and the dance is organically both.
Kolleen McQuillen David Rodriguez
Music: Leo Delibes Choreography: John Clifford
World Premiere
The Los Angeles Ballet has plans to mount the fulllength "Sylvia" during its 197980 season in Los Angeles. As a preview, Mr. Clifford has included the Third Act Grand Pas de Deux on this tour. "Sylvia ou la Nymphe de Diane" is a classic ballet based upon a pastoral drama by Ariosta. It was choreographed by Louis Merante and premiered at the Paris Opera on June 14, 1876, with Merante dancing. There have been numerous versions of the ballet, including Frederick Ashton's for SadlersWells Ballet in 1952. Balanchine choreographed the Third Act Pas de Deux for the New York City Ballet in 1951. John Clifford's will be the first fulllength version presented by an American company.
Dana Shwarts Reid Olson
Music: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky Choreography: George Balanchine
Piano Concerto No. 3, First Movement
Premiere: March 1, 1956
A plotless ballet which Balanchine described as an "essay in extended classic vocabulary in which a maximum amount of choreographic development is contained in a rather restricted area of time and space."
Jennifer Barton, Diane Diefenderfer, Anne Horrigan, Juliana Mathewson, Richard Fritz, Rodney Jenkins, David Rodriguez, Georges Vargas
Music: Ravi Shankar Choreography: John Clifford
Concerto for Sitar and Orchestra
Premiere: April 2, 1975
A series of classically orchestrated Eastern themes. The choreography is a balletic interpretation of the music.
Nancy Davis James Lane
Jennifer Barton, Diane Diefenderfer, Juliana Mathewson, Kolleen McQuillen, Rodney Jenkins, Reid Olson, David Rodriguez, Georges Vargas
Dana Shwarts Rodney Jenkins, James Lane, Reid Olson, David Rodriguez, Georges Vargas
John Clifford Nancy Davis, Johnna Kirkland, Dana Shwarts, Richard Fritz, James Lane
and Ensemble
A Festival of Russian Dance Saturday, March 24, at 8:30, in Hill Auditorium
Assembled in one presentation are ninety dancers and musicians representing some of the finest folk ensembles in the Soviet Union. Seven of the fifteen republics are represented: Byelorussia, Georgia, Lithuania, Moldavia, Russia, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.
Tickets for this concert, one of the concluding events of the Russian Arts Festival on the UM campus, are available at $9, $8, $7, and $5.
Benny Goodman
and The University Symphony Orchestra
Fifth Annual Benefit Concert and Reception Friday, March 30, at 8:30, in Hill Auditorium
Weber: "Euryanthe" Overture
Weber: Concertino for Clarinet and Orchestra, Op. 26
RimskyKorsakov: Capriccio espagnol
Barber: Adagio for Strings
Medley of Broadway Hits--Benny and the Orchestra
Following the concert there will be a festive reception to "Meet the Artists," held on the penthouse floor atop the new School of Dentistry Building. $25 includes a main floor seat for the concert and a reception ticket (of which $12 is taxdeductible). Concert tickets are $9, main floor; $8, first balcony; $7 and $5, second balcony.
Note: the performance of Gian Carlo Menotti's commissioned choral work, originally scheduled for this Benefit Concert, has been postponed in order to give the composer an extension of time to complete it for world premiere in our 19791980 season.
Ann Arbor May Festival, 1979
The Philadelphia Orchestra and University Choral Union
Eugene Ormandy and Riccardo Muti, Conductors Alicia de Larrocha, Pianist Victoria de los Angeles, Soprano
Alma Jean Smith, Soprano Zurab Sotkilava, Tenor
Alexandrina Milcheva, Mezzo Soprano Martti Talvela, Bass
Monday, April 23--de Larrocha and de los Angeles, in recital.
Wednesday, April 25--Ormandy and de los Angeles: Hindemith: "Mathis der Maler"; Ravel: Sheherazade"; Prokofiev: Scythian Suite; Mozart: "Voi che sapete" from Marriage of Figaro; Rossini: "Una voce poco fa" from Barber of Seville; Wagner: "Dich teure Halle" from Tannhauser.
Thursday, April 26--Muti: Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3; Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5.
Friday, April 27--Muti and Larrocha, AllBeethoven: Symphony No. 6; Piano Concerto No. 3; Overture to Leonore No. 3.
Saturday, April 28--Ormandy, Choral Union Soloists: Verdi: "Manzoni" Requiem.
Single tickets now on sale.
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phones: 6653717, 7642538

Download PDF