Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 30, 1979: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --

UMS Concert Program, July 30, 1979: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --  image UMS Concert Program, July 30, 1979: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --  image
Day
30
Month
July
Year
1979
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: 101st
Concert: Fifth
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Philippe Entremont
Pianist
Monday Evening, July 30, 1979, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Intermezzo in A minor, Op. 118, No. 1
Intermezzo in A major, Op. 118, No. 2 Brahms
Ballade in G minor, Op. 118, No. 3
Intermezzo in E-flat minor, Op. 118, No. 6
Symphonic Etudes, Op. 13..........Schumann
INTERMISSION
Five Preludes..............Debussy
Danseuscs de Dclphes (Book I) La Serenade interrompue (Book I) La Cathedrale engloutie (Book I) Minstrels (Book I) Feux d'artifke (Book II)
Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 14.........Prokofiev
Allegro ma non troppo Scherzo Andante Vivace
Columbia and CBS Records.
The final concert of the summer will be given by Ruggiero Ricci, violinist, one week from tonight, Monday, August 6, at 8:30 in this auditorium.
101st Season -Fifth Concert Summer Fare Series
About the Artist
For over two decades, Philippe Entremont's artistry and warmth have been steady features of the musical life of six continents. (He made his United States debut in 1953.) Today he is a perennial favorite with the world's great orchestras and conductors, as well as concertgoers, tele?vision audiences, and record collectors. This evening's recital is Entremont's fifth Ann Arbor appearance, and marks the beginning of a week-long residency during which he will teach master classes at the University School of Music.
Choral Union Series
Joan Sutherland, Soprano; Richard Bonynge, Pianist . . Thurs. Oct. 4
Prague Chamber Orchestra..........Sun. Oct. 7
Moscow State Symphony..........Sat. Oct. 13
I Solisti di Zagreb; James Galway, Flutist.....Thurs. Oct. 25
Dresden Staatskapelle..........Sun. Nov. 11
Alfred Brendel, Pianist..........Tues. Jan. 22
Leontyne Price, Soprano.......... Sat. Feb. 9
Yehudi and Hephzibah Menuhin, Violinist & Pianist . . . Wed. Mar. 19
Baltimore Symphony OrchestraComissiona.....Wed. Apr. 2
Sherrill Milnes, Baritone.........Mon. Apr. 14
Choice Series
Bohemian Folk Ballet of Prague.......Thurs. Oct. 4
Waverly Consort............Mon. Oct. 22
Paul Gaulin Mime Company.........Tues. Oct. 23
Solomons CompanyDance.........Wed. Oct. 24
Cloud Gate Dance Theatre, Taiwan.......Sun. Nov. 4
Martha Graham Dance Company......Mon.--Wed. Nov. 5-7
"Nutcracker," Pittsburgh Ballet.....Thurs.-Sun. Dec. 13-16
Les Grands Ballets Canadiens........Sun. Jan. 20
Glinka Chorus of Leningrad.........Tues. Jan. 29
Eliot Feld Ballet..........Fri.-Sun. Feb. 1-3
Cuban National Folk Ensemble........Tues. Feb. 26
Krasnayarsk Dance Company, Siberia.......Fri. Feb. 29
Kingdom of Bhutan, Music & Dance.......Sat. Mar. 15
Jury's Irish Cabaret of Dublin........Tues. Mar. 18
Chamber Arts Series
Juilliard String Quartet.........Mon. Sept. 24
Michael Lorimer, Guitarist.........Mon. Oct. 15
Boston Camerata............Sun Oct. 28
Syntagma Musicum...........Tues. Nov. 20
Concord String Quartet..........Sun. Jan. 27
Orpheus Chamber Ensemble.........Fri. Feb. 8
Zurich Chamber Orchestra.........Fri. Feb. 15
Quartetto Italiano...........Thur. Apr. 17
Debut & Encore Series
Youri Egorov, Pianist...........Thurs. Oct. 18
Nina Beilina, Violinist...........Tues. Dec. 4
Aldo Ciccolini, Pianist..........Thurs. Feb. 21
Elly Ameling, Soprano..........Wed. Mar. 12
Series orders now being accepted.
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phones: 665-3717, 764-2538

Download PDF