Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 14, 1980: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --

UMS Concert Program, July 14, 1980: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --  image UMS Concert Program, July 14, 1980: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --  image
Day
14
Month
July
Year
1980
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: 102nd
Concert: Second
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
John Browning
Pianist
Monday Evening, July 14, 1980, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Prelude, Fugue, and Allegro in E-flat........Bach
Sonatine...............Ravel
Modere
Mouvement de menuet Anime
Polonaise in F-sharp minor, Op. 44 "I
Barcarolle, Op. 60 ........Chopin
Scherzo in B minor, Op. 20 J
INTERMISSION
Sonata, Op. 26.............Barber
Allegro energico
Allegro vivace e leggero Adagio mesto
Fuga: allegro con spirito
Artist's note: John Browning is recognized the world over as one of America's leading pianists, appearing regularly with virtually all major orchestras, repeated engagements at leading sum?mer festivals, in recital, and with chamber music groups. Tours have taken him to Japan, the Soviet Union, and annually to leading European cities. His performing repertoire encompasses the masterworks of the classic, romantic, and contemporary literature, documented in his many recordings on the Angel, Columbia, Desto, and RCA labels. Tonight is Mr. Browning's third performance in Ann Arbor--his first recital. He will remain through Thursday of this week to conduct master classes at the U-M School of Music.
102nd Season--Second Concert Summer Fare Series
Sun. Oct. 12
Tues. Oct. 21
Sat. Oct. 25
Sun. Nov. 16
Sun. Nov. 23
Mon. Dec. 15
Tues. Jan. 27
Sat . Feb. 7
Thurs. Mar. 19
Sun. Mar. 29
International Presentations, 1980-1981
Summer Fare Series
Byron Janis, Pianist . ?......Mon. July 21
All-Chopin program. Grant Johannesen, Pianist........Mon. July 28
Bach: Fantasie and Fugue in A minor; Beethoven: Sonata in E-flat, Op. 31, No. 3;
Schumann: Humoresque, Op. 20; Poulenc: "Les Animaux Modeles"; Debussy: Masques,
L'Isle joyeuse North wood Symphonette & Judy Manos, Vocalist . . . Mon. Aug. 4
Don Th. Jaeger conducts "From Bach to Broadway"
Choral Union Series
Mstislav Rostropovich, Cellist (new date).....Sun.
Toronto Symphony Orchestra Andrew Davis
San Francisco Symphony Edo de Waart ....
Martti Talvela, Basso........
Los Angeles Philharmonic Carlo Maria Giulini Rudolf Serkin, Pianist (replacing Tokyo Philharmonic)
Pinchas Zukerman, Violinist & Violist.....
Oxana Yablonskaya, Pianist.......
Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra Andre Previn Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra Kurt Masur
Choice Series
Goldovsky Opera, Barber of Seville . . . Mon. & Tues. Oct. 6 & 7
Ballet Folklorico Mexicano.......Thurs. Oct. 9
Lar Lubovitch Dance Company .... Tues. & Wed. Oct. 28 & 29
The Feld Ballet........Mon.-Wed. Nov. 17-19
Caribbean Carnival of Trinidad.......Fri. Nov. 21
New Swingle Singers..........Fri. Dec. 12
Pittsburgh Ballet, Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker . . Thurs.-Sat. Dec. 18-20
Royal Ballet of Flanders.....Wed. & Thurs. Mar. 4 & 5
Alvin Ailey Dance Theater......Mon.-Wed. Mar. 9-11
Western Opera Theater, Elixir of Love.....Thurs. Apr. 23
Chamber Arts Series
Smithsonian Chamber Ensemble.......Tues. Oct. 14
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields......Mon. Nov. 3
Kenneth Gilbert, Harpsichordist.......Sat. Nov. 15
Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio......Thurs. Nov. 20
Music from Marlboro.........Thurs. Jan. 29
Guarneri String Quartet........Thurs. Feb. 19
New York Chamber Soloists........Sun. Mar. 15
Guarneri String Quartet........Mon. Apr. 20
with David Shifrin, Clarinetist; Gyorgy Sandor, Pianist
Debut & Encore Series
Anthony di Bonaventura, Pianist.......Sat. Oct. 18
Murray Perahia, Pianist........Thurs. Nov. 13
Horacio Gutierrez, Pianist........Wed. Jan. 14
Walter Berry, Baritone..........Sat. Mar. 7
Brochure with complete information available upon request.
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phone: 665-3717, 764-2538

Download PDF