Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, March 4, 1983: I Fiamminghi -- The Belgian Chamber Orchestra

Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: 104th
Concert: Thirty-fifth
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

I Fiamminghi
The Belgian Chamber Orchestra
RUDOLF WERTHEN Music Director and Leader
Miha Pogacnik, Violinist
Friday Evening, March 4, 1983, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Five Pieces for String Orchestra, Op. 444 (1927)................. Hindemith
Langsam-schnell Lcbhaft
Schr langsam Lcbhaft
Concerto in D minor for Violin and String Orchestra, BWV 1052....... Bach
Allegro Adagio Allegro
Miha Pogacnik
Concerto in C major for Violin and Orchestra .......................Haydn
Allegro modcrato Adagio
Finale: presto
Miha Pogacnik
Serenade in E major for String Orchestra, Op. 22 ...................Dvorak
Modcrato Tempo di Valse Scherzo: vivace Larghetto
Finale: allegro vivace
The University Musical Society expresses thanks to Liberty Music Shop for its generosity and service to the community in underwriting the printing costs of this concert program.
Thirty-fifth Concert of the 104th Season Twentieth Annual Chamber Arts Series
Members of I Fiamminghi
Rudolf Wcrthcn Paul Malfait Paul Klinck Bcrnadcttc Brackc Mia Vandcwicic Otto Dcrolcz
Jan Willcm van dcr Eyck Filip Verpoest
France Springucl Rigo Mcssens
Double Bass Eticnnc Sicbans
EMI, Decca, Toshiba, and Dailsche Crammophon Records.
About the Artists
Since The Belgian Chamber Orchestra's reorganization as I Fiamminghi in 1977, this cele?brated ensemble has been in constant demand throughout Europe. Taking the name that Renaissance Italy gave its prized Flemish court and chapel musicians, this young group represents the highest standards of the Belgian school of string playing. 1 Fiamminghi members possess a virtuosic level of instrumental technique, enabling them to perform works ranging from the Italian Baroque to Tchaikovsky to the masterworks of the 20th century. On this, their first tour of the United States, they are performing in Anchorage, Fairbanks, San Francisco, Denver, Chicago, New Orleans, Washington, D.C., and New York City, in addition to Ann Arbor.
Rudolf Werthen, conductor of I Fiamminghi and internationally acclaimed as a solo concert artist, was born in Belgium in 1946. He has studied at the Ghent Conservatory, Queen Elizabeth Music Chapel, the Brussels Royal Conservatory, and with eminent violinists Andre Gertler and Henryk Szeryng. A winner of numerous competitions, Mr. Wcrthen's honors include first prizes at the International Competition in Vienna, the Amsterdam Competition, and the Deru Competition. He has won praise as soloist with the London Symphony Orchestra, the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, and the Deutsche Solisten. He also serves as Professor of Music at both the Ghent Royal Conservatory and the Robert Schumann Institute in Diisseldorf.
Miha Pogacnik is recognized as one of the outstanding young violinists of his generation. Born in Yugoslavia in 1949, he studied in Europe with Igor Ozim, Max Rostal, and Henryk Szeryng. In 1973 he came to the United States as a Fulbright scholar to study with Joseph Gingold at Indiana University. Mr. Pogacnik has since toured throughout Europe, with a recent tour of New Zealand and Australia. The current season marks his first major United States tour. In 1981 he founded the Chartres Summer Festival in France and now serves the Festival as Artistic Advisor. This is the first time in recent history that the ancient cathedral is used for performances of music, and attracts thousands of people from over 24 countries.
In tonight's concert, Mr. Pogacnik performs on a violin made for him in 1981 by Sergio Pcrcsson of Philadelphia.
Dresden StaatskapelleHerbert Blomstedt................... Sun. Mar. 6
Ballet Folclorico Nacional de Mexico...................... Tues. Mar. 8
Ali Akuar Khan, Sarod..................................... Thurs. Mar. 10
I Solisti Aquilani and
Gary Karr, Double Bassist.................................... Sat. Mar. 12
Faculty Artists Concert
Sunday Afternoon, March 13, at 4:00 Rackham Auditorium -free admission
Enjoy the music of C. P. E. Bach, Brahms, Poulenc, Debussy, and R. Strauss, performed by members of the outstanding faculty at the University School of Music:
Keith Bryan, flutist; Jacob Krachmalnick, violinist; Donald Mclnncs, uiolist; Bevcrley Rinaldi, soprano; Rosemary Russell, mezzo-soprano; Harry Sargous, oboist; William Albright, Richmond Browne, Benning Dexter, Louis Nagcl, pianists; Marilyn Mason, harpsichordist
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phones: (313) 665-3717764-2538

Download PDF