Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, October 10, 1985: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --

UMS Concert Program, October 10, 1985: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --  image UMS Concert Program, October 10, 1985: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --  image UMS Concert Program, October 10, 1985: International Presentations Of Music & Dance --  image
Day
10
Month
October
Year
1985
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: 107th
Concert: Thirty-second
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Franqois-Rene Duchable
Pianist
Thursday Evening, October 10, 1985, at 8:00 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
A program of music by Franz Liszt
Paraphrase on Don Giovanni (Mozart)
Transcription of Symphonie jantastique (Berlioz) (second, third, and fourth movements) A Ball
Scene in the Meadows March to the Scaffold
INTERMISSION
Transcription of Polonaise from Eugene Onegin (Tchaikovsky)
Sonata in B minor (in one movement)
Erato and EMI Records
Thirty-second Concert of the 107th Season Tenth Annual Debut & Encore Series
Francois-Rene Duchable is now making a return visit to America following his highly successful North American debut tour in the summer of 1984. Within a two-week period he appeared in six major festivals, including a recital in Ann Arbor's Summer Festival.
Born in 1952, Duchable studied harmony, counterpoint, and conducting, in addition to piano, at the Paris Conservatory. He won his first piano prize at the age of thirteen, was a finalist in the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels at sixteen, and received the Sacha Schneider Foundation Prize at twenty-one. Then followed the Paris recital which drew the attention and admiration of Arthur Rubinstein, who helped to launch Duchable's career on an international level.
Duchable has since performed at festivals all over Europe, and he has played with the Berlin Philharmonic, the Orchestre National de France, the Orchestre de Paris, and the London Philharmonic, among others. His numerous tours have taken him throughout Europe, and to South Africa, Israel, Australia, and Japan, the latter including major concerts with the NHK Symphony Orchestra.
Of the pianist's twenty recordings, his disc of Chopin Etudes has been awarded the Charles Cros Academy Grand Prix du Disque and the Diapason d'Or; of his recording of the two Liszt concertos and Fantasia on Hungarian Folk Themes, Ovation's reviewer wrote that "he is a powerfully accurate pianist, possessing the proverbial clear French tone and brilliant technique at its best. In fact, Duchable impresses as a born Liszt player."
Fine Arts String Quartet.................................. Tues. Oct. 15
Nathan Milstein, Violinist................................. Thurs. Oct. 24
Aterballeto.........................................Fri., Sat. Oct. 25, 26
Western Opera Theater.................................... Sun. Oct. 27
Mozart's Don Giovanni
Munich Philharmonic Lorin Maazel...................... Tues. Oct. 29
Folk Ballet of Yugoslavia ............................... Thurs. Oct. 31
Cleveland Octet........................................... Sun. Nov. 3
Carlos Montoya, Flamenco Guitarist........................... Sat. Nov. 9
Vienna Symphony Wolfgang Sawallisch................. Wed. Nov. 13
New Philadelphia String Quartet.......................... Sun. Nov. 24
with Richard Woodhams, Oboist; Yoheved Kaplinsky, Pianist
Shura Cherkassky, Pianist.............s................... Tues. Nov. 26
Handel's Messiah I Donald Bryant...................... Fri.-Sun. Dec. 6-8
Pittsburgh Ballet, Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker............ Fri.-Sun. Dec. 13-15
Jessye Norman, Soprano....................................... Wed. Jan. 8
Cracow Philharmonic....................................... Sat. Jan. 11
Krzysztof Penderecki, Conductor; Yo-Yo Ma, Cellist
The English Concert Trevor Pinnock..................... Wed. Jan. 15
Detroit Symphony Orchestra................................ Sun. Feb. 2
Gunther Herbig, Conductor; Heinrich Schiff, Cellist Murray Louis Dance Company and
Dave Brubeck Jazz Quartet.............................. Wed. Feb. 5
Andre Watts, Pianist.......................................... Fri. Feb. 7
The Songmakers' Almanac................................... Sun. Feb. 9
Michala Petri, Recorder.................................... Thurs. Feb. 13
Guarneri String Quartet.................................. Tues. Feb. 18
San Francisco Symphony Herbert Blomstedt.............Tues. Mar. 11
Berlin Ballet.................................. Wed., Thurs. Mar. 12, 13
Beaux Arts Trio .......................................... Sun. Mar. 16
Faculty Artists Concert (free admission) ................... Sun. Mar. 23
Lewitzky Dance Company........................ Mon., Tues. Mar. 24, 25
Ruggiero Ricci, Violinist.................................... Wed. Mar. 26
St. Paul Chamber Orchestra...............................Tues. Apr. 1
Pinchas Zukerman, ConductorViolinist Bonn Woodwind Quintet...................................Sun. Apr. 6
with Steven Masi, Pianist
Philip Jones Brass Ensemble.................................Sun. Apr. 13
John Williams, Guitarist..................................... Wed. Apr. 16
93rd Annual May Festival...................... Wed.-Sat. Apr. 30-May 3
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-1270 Phones: (313) 665-3717, 764-2538
FRANCOIS-RENE DUCHABLE
October 10, 1985
Please note the correct order of tonight's program: Music of Franz Liszt
Transcription of Polonaise from Eugene Onegin Transcription of Symphonie fantastique Paraphrase on Don Giovanni
Intermission Sonata in B minor

Download PDF