Press enter after choosing selection

Songs in Ursa Major

Brodie, Emma. Book - 2021 Fiction / Brodie, Emma, Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma 3 On Shelf No requests on this item Community Rating: 3 out of 5

Cover image for Songs in Ursa Major

Sign in to request

Locations
Call Number: Fiction / Brodie, Emma, Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma
On Shelf At: Downtown Library, Traverwood Branch

Location Call Number Branch Item Status
Downtown 1st Floor, NEW Fiction / Brodie, Emma Downtown Library On Shelf
Downtown 1st Floor, NEW Fiction / Brodie, Emma Downtown Library Due 10-13-2021
Traverwood Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Traverwood Branch On Shelf
Traverwood Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Traverwood Branch On Shelf
Malletts Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Malletts Creek Branch Due 10-16-2021
Malletts Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Malletts Creek Branch Due 10-06-2021
Pittsfield Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Pittsfield Branch Due 09-27-2021
Pittsfield Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Pittsfield Branch Due 10-01-2021
Westgate Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Westgate Branch Due 10-18-2021
Westgate Adult Books, NEW Adult Book / Fiction / Historical / Brodie, Emma Westgate Branch Due 10-07-2021

"This is a Borzoi book"--Title page.
The year is 1969, and the Bayleen Island Folk Fest is abuzz with one name: Jesse Reid. Jesse Reid's intricate guitar riffs and supple baritone are poised to tip from fame to legend with this one headlining performance. That is, until his motorcycle crashes on the way to the show. Jane Quinn is a Bayleen Island local whose music flows as naturally as her long blond hair. When she and her bandmates are asked to play in Jesse Reid's place at the festival, it almost doesn't seem real. But Jane plants her bare feet on the Main Stage and delivers the performance of a lifetime, stopping Jesse's disappointed fans in their tracks: A star is born. Jesse stays on the island to recover from his near-fatal accident and he strikes up a friendship with Jane, coaching her through the production of her first record. As Jane contends with the music industry's sexism, Jesse becomes her advocate, and what starts as a shared calling soon becomes a passionate love affair.
"A scintillating debut from a major new voice in fiction, alive with music, sex, and fame, Songs in Ursa Major is a love story set in 1969 at the crossroads of rock and folk, for fans of Daisy Jones & The Six"-- Provided by publisher.

REVIEWS & SUMMARIES

Library Journal Review
Booklist Review
Publishers Weekly Review
Summary / Annotation
Author Notes

COMMUNITY REVIEWS

No community reviews. Write one below!

Cover image for Songs in Ursa Major

PUBLISHED
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2021.
Year Published: 2021
Description: 323 pages ; 24 cm
Language: English
Format: Book

ISBN/STANDARD NUMBER
9780593318621

SUBJECTS
Musicians -- Fiction.
Singers -- Fiction.
Motorcycling accidents -- Fiction.
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction.
Nineteen seventies -- Fiction.
Islands -- Canada -- Fiction.
Love stories.
Romance fiction.